LibGuides: History of Christianity: Databases (Articles)

Full Text?

Indexing databases can include links to the text of the articles they contain. If not:

Look for the "link to full text" option. This may look different in different databases, but it's there in most every indexing database. If a recent year, we may have the item in print in the Library.

If you know which specific periodical, consult LMU's Journal List (on the Library homepage) to determine if the Library owns the article you need. This List tells you if the journal is available in print, microfilm or in one of our online databases, and what years we hold.

JSTOR Religion

JSTOR is an archive of past articles from many academic journals, supported by a consortium of libraries. This is a list of JSTOR's journal holdings in religion, but you can also search history, social sciences and a host of other subject areas. Not the latest issues, but a selection of good journals with a lot of timeless articles.

OneSearch+

Two Interesting Bibliographies with some texts

Early Church.org.uk
A ten-year bibliography created and maintained by Rob Bradshaw in the U.K. Includes links to full-text in the public domain or for which he has permission.

The following were compiled by a conservative Christian, not a professional theologian, but an amateur in the original sense of the word: he does this for love.

Medieval Church.org.uk
Another nice collection of sources and links by Rob Bradshaw in the U.K.

Religion & Related Databases for Articles and more

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
This index covers a mix of religion magazines and journals. Many articles are full-text. ProQuest Religion indexes more than 150 magazines and journals, with most of them available in full-text. This database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. In addition, there are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in areas related to religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.

Feel free to ASK FOR HELP with these and other databases!

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
This worldwide database covers all religions in over 1000 journals worldwide, plus reviews of books and book chapters. It is the index of choice for most religious scholars. Produced by the American Theological Library Association, the ATLA Religion Database covers religion worldwide, and includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals, more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index on Jewish history, activity and thought, covering English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals. Coverage dates back as far as 1988. Some items are full-text, but not the majority. Index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index, sans full text, but the abstracts/summaries help you decide whether an article is worthwhile. If so, paste the title of the journal into our Journal List search box, and it will lead you to the full text of the articles we own online. This database provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature covering Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.

Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
A free online theological index from the Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen, covering 600 journals, many of them European, some of them not covered by any other index. English or German language search page.

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L’Année philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of journal articles put together by a consortium of academic libraries; these do not include current issues, and may be blocked for the most recent 3-5 years, but there is much depth here, both in content and in the completeness of periodical runs. Search engine a little primitive, but gets the job done. STOR offers interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Typically, coverage ends 3-5 years before the present date, a "moving wall" system that protects publishers from last revenue for recent articles.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, including over 300,000 entries covering periodical literature and miscellany volumes published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan and South Africa. Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies from 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), established in 1967, is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages. The IMB is produced by an Editorial team at the University of Leeds and some 30 contributors world wide. It covers periodical literature and miscellany volumes published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan and South Africa. (The Printed IMB appears twice a year, covering most recent publications.) This database indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published since 1967, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 1,700 academic historical journals, some back to 1955. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. With over 800,000 records, Historical Abstracts is a resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. This database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Online Bibliography for Biblical Studies

Oxford Bibliographies Online has a module on Biblical Studies. A selective committee of specialists have created a biblliography of what they consider core materials for study in the area covered by the module. The Philosophy module is another one LMU has subscribed to. Note: there are a few categories in the Philosophy module of interest to theologians!

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window

Featured Resource

Studies in Early Christianity
This is a series of books, each with an individual catalog record, which attempted to collect the best essays and articles on early Christianity.
NOTE: There is also an additional, unrelated but relevant volume from 2005, of collected essays of François Bovon in this series list.