LibGuides: History of Christianity: Shapers, Dissenters, Reformers

Names in Church History: To the Reformation

In this and the box opposite are some of the significant names in the history of Post-Apostolic Christianity, to possibly use as a starting point for finding a paper topic. See the Background Info tab for Reference materials with good initial information on these and other people and topics in Church history. Consult with your librarian to find more focused sources, both in Reference and elsewhere.

Eusebius of Caesarea

Polycarp

Origen

Tatian

Ignatius of Antioch

Irenaeus of Lyons

Theophilus of Antioch

Tertullian

Antony the Hermit

Shenoute the Archimandrite

Orosius

Athenagoras of Athens

Clement of Rome

Justin Martyr

Melito of Sardis

Diocletian

Constantine

Arius

Athanasius

Evagrius of Pontus

Gregory of Nazianzus

Gregory of Nyssa

Ephrem the Syrian

Macarius/ Pseudo-Macarius

Cyril of Jerusalem

John Chrysostom

Basil of Caesarea

Theodore of Mopsuestia

Cyril of Alexandria

Cyprian of Carthage

Gregory the Great

Pachomius

John of Damascus

Simeon Stylites

Leo (I) the Great

Martin of Tours

Patrick

Vincent of Lerins

St. Augustine of Hippo

Jerome

Denys the Areopagite

Benedict of Nursia

John Cassian

Irenaeus of Lyon

Gregory of Nyssa

Celestine

Basil the Great

Gregory Nazianzus

Cyril and Methodius

Isidore of Seville

Bernard of Clairvaux

Ordericus Vitalis

Hrabanus Maurus

Odo of Cluny

Angilbert of Saint-Riquier

Augustine of Canterbury

Hadewijch

Boniface

Hildegarde von Bingen

Bede

Gertrude of Helfta

Symeon the New Theologian

Anselm of Havelberg

Hildebrande/Gregory VII

Mathilde of Canossa

Robert of Molesme

Anselm of Canterbury

Peter Abelard

Vladimir of Kiev

Dhuoda of Septimania

John Scotus Eriugena

Alan of Lille

Hugh of St. Victor

Peter Lombard

Richard of St. Victor

Thomas a Kempis

Dominic

Thomas Aquinas

John Duns Scotus

Peter Damian

Francis of Assisi

Clare of Assisi

Mechthild of Magdeburg

Sergius of Radonezh

Bonaventure

Gennadios II of Constantinople

Raymond Llull

Julian of Norwich

Meister Eckhart

Marguerite Porete

Jean Gerson

Catherine of Siena

Girolamo Savonarola

Baronius

A Note on Names

Ancient and Medieval names sometimes create a challenge. You may run into variations on a name between texts, as, besides the official Latin name, a person would have a name in the local language or dialect -- perhaps additionally complicated because of transliteration from Greek or other languages. If famous, there might even be a third name by which the person was known in foreign lands. Again, bibliographic listings, and the way the name is entered in a library catalog or a periodical index, as well as in the indexing for Google and other search engines may vary. LINUS gives lots of "see" references for various forms. Searching databases may be harder; try a keyword search, and see if you can find an 'official' subject or author heading in one of the resulting records.

E.g.: Aurelius Augustinus, St. Augustine, Augustine of Hippo, Augustinus Hipponensis...

LINUS: Augustine, Saint, Bishop of Hippo

Textual Access

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Subjects: Theological Studies, History, European Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1519-1710s. Mainly focused on Western Europe. Works by major Protestant writers of the Reformation. Includes both scanned images of original texts and full-text searchable versions. Ability to browse by topic and search by Biblical citation.
Contents: E-books; Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
Subjects: Theological Studies, History, European Studies, Catholic Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1490s-1740s. Mainly focused on Western Europe. Works by major Catholic writers of the Reformation. Includes both scanned images and full-text searchable versions. Ability to browse by topic and search by Biblical citation.
Contents: E-books; Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources
Patrologiae Graecae
Subjects: Theological Studies, Catholic Studies, Classics, History
Description: Primary source collection containing full text.
Contents: Primary Sources
Patrologia Latina Database
Subjects: Theological Studies, Catholic Studies, Classics, History
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Primary Sources
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Monumental collection of virtually every significant English or foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Over 150,000 titles across disciplines.
Early English Books Online
Subjects: English, History, Humanities, History of the Book Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies
Description: Primary source collection containing full text. Includes materials from 1473-1700. Contains digitized books originally printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere. The collection also includes works in many European, Near Eastern, and Native American languages.
Contents: E-books; Primary Sources
Library of Latin Texts Online (CLCLT)
Subjects: Theological Studies, Classics, History
Description: Library of full-text original language texts, from Antiquity to the 1900s.
Contents: Original-language primary texts
America's Historical Imprints
Subjects: MANY
Description: General primary source collection from Readex containing full text. Includes materials from 1639-1819. Mainly focused on the United States. Mostly in English, but contains some material in other European and Native American languages.
Contents: Books; Book Chapters; Primary Sources

Theology Texts: Individual Authors

The Tertullian Project
http://www.tertullian.org/
Origen
http://www.earlychristianwritings.com/origen.html
Note: see this site for a very large collection of early Christian texts.
St. Antony the Hermit
http://www.seanmultimedia.com/Pie_Antonyofthedesert_discourseondemons.html
Discourse on Demons (via Athanasius)
St. Basil the Great of Caesarea
Letters and writings from the Christian Classics Ethereal Library.
http://www.ccel.org/ccel/schaff/npnf208.toc.html
St. Gregory of Nyssa
http://www.ellopos.net/blog/?p=55
Evagrius Ponticus
http://evagriusponticus.net/
A great source for scholarly information.
St. Anselm of Canterbury
http://cla.umn.edu/sites/jhopkins/
Jasper Hopkins' English translations of all the Treatises and more. See also the Past Masters database for the Latin originals.
St. Gregory the Great
http://www.lectionarycentral.com/GregoryMoraliaIndex.html
Text of the Moralia
St. Augustine of Hippo
http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbin/book/lookupname?key=Augustine%2C%20Saint%2C%20Bishop%20of%20Hippo
See also the Past Masters database and the Patrologiae Latina database for searchable text.
Augustine: Texts & Translations
http://www9.georgetown.edu/faculty/jod/augustine/textstrans.html
From Georgetown University
Nicholas of Cusa / Cusanus
http://cla.umn.edu/sites/jhopkins/
Jasper Hopkins' translations. Down a little from St. Anselm.
St. Benedict of Nursia
http://www.osb.org/rb/text/toc.html#toc
Benedict's Rule
St. Francis of Assisi
http://www.franciscan-archive.org/patriarcha/opera/fwintro.html
St. Clare of Assisi
http://www.franciscan-archive.org/matriarcha/index.html#writings
St. Catherine of Siena
http://www.ccel.org/c/catherine/dialog/dialog.html
St. Thomas Aquinas
http://www.thomasinstituut.org/thomasinstituut/scripts/works_index.htm
See also Past Masters.
Corpus Thomisticum
http://www.corpusthomisticum.org/
From the University of Navarre
Aquinas Translation Project
Project targeting erstwhile untranslated texts by Aquinas for scholarly use. From DeSales University.
Wie was Maarten Luther?
http://www.meetingpoint.org/ml/mlframe.htm
See LINKS: Selected Works section.
Martin Luther
http://www.iclnet.org/pub/resources/text/wittenberg/wittenberg-home.html
The Project Wittenberg texts
St. Dominic de Guzman
http://www.users.csbsju.edu/~eknuth/nineways/
Work by his followers, the Nine Ways purport to accurately portray his ways of praying and worship
St. Teresa of Avila
http://www.catholicfirst.com/thefaith/catholicclassics/stteresa/castle/interiorcastle02.html#SECOND%20MANSIONS
The Interior Castle
St. John of the Cross
http://www.ccel.org/ccel/john_cross/dark_night.html
Dark Night of the Soul
St. Ignatius of Loyola
http://woodstock.georgetown.edu/ignatius/letters.htm
The letters and instructions of Ignatius, ed. Joseph Tylenda.
John Henry Newman
http://www.newmanreader.org/
(Includes "Idea of a University" for the new men of Newman's noumen)
Friedrich Schleiermacher
http://people.bu.edu/wwildman/schl/
Mostly secondary works, but some texts included. See the Readers Guide to Christian Faith for some exploration.
Dorothy Day
http://www.catholicworker.org/dorothyday/index.cfm
Besides her published works in LINUS, see this site for her columns and writings for the Catholic Worker.
Thomas Merton
http://merton.org/Research/
Copyright issues restrict open access. Consult Thomas Merton: a comprehensive bibliography for a listing of his books and articles, and articles about him to the mid-1980s: BX4705.M542 B73 1986
Check the linked site for updated bibliographies.
LMU has a majority of his works; check LINUS and the Journal List.
Karl Barth (Basel)
http://karlbarth.unibas.ch/index.php?id=36
The Karl Barth archives at the University of Basel. In-process is an edition of his collected works, plus digitization and preservation of his papers, biographical materials, and more.
Center for Barth Studies
http://www.ptsem.edu/library/barth/
Finding tool for the bibliographical and archival collections of the Princeton Theological Seminary's collections on Barth.
Paul Tillich
http://people.bu.edu/wwildman/tillich/
Secondary works, some by grad students; see the Reader's Guide to Systematic Theology for some exploration.
Karl Barth (Basel)
http://karlbarth.unibas.ch/index.php?id=36
The Karl Barth archives at the University of Basel. In-process is an edition of his collected works, plus digitization and preservation of his papers, biographical materials, and more.
Karl Barth (Princeton Theological Seminary)
http://www.ptsem.edu/library/barth/default.aspx?menu1_id=8457&menu2_id=6904&id=8446
Center for Barth Studies. Access to secondary materials on Barth, including a bibliography, a listing of all Barth materials in Special Collections, links to conferences, reviews, etc. Unfortunately, the digital library of his works is restricted to PTS students. But a useful site nonetheless
John Howard Yoder
http://replica.palni.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/p15705coll18
This digital pilot project of the Mennonite Church, U.S.A., has been expanded by a grant, and content will be added as time goes by.
Bernard Lonergan
http://www.bernardlonergan.com/
Access to the archival collection of Lonergan materials, including manuscripts, typescripts, photographs, etc. Register with your e-mail and a password (no cost). Click on item description, find .pdf on page and voilà.

Names in Church History: Reformation and After

Jan Hus

John Wyclif

Martin Luther

John Eck

Desiderius Erasmus

Huldrych Zwingli

Jean Calvin

Faustus Socinus

Johann von Staupitz

Henry IV of France

James Arminius

John of the Cross

Ignatius of Loyola

Francis Xavier

John Wycliffe

William Tyndale

Teresa of Avila

Martin Bucer

Henry VIII of England

Thomas More

Thomas Cranmer

Philipp Melancthon

Reginald Pole

Peter Martyr

Matteo Ricci

Elizabeth I of England

John Knox

Paul III

Jacob Hutter

Herman of Alaska

Paul IV

Michael Servetus

Michael Sattler

Robert Bellarmine

Gregory XV

Roberto de' Nobili

George Fox

Jean de Brebeuf

Bartolome de las Casas

Francisco de Vitoria

Menno Simons

Oliver Cromwell

Margaret Fell

Johann Arndt

Philip Jacob Spener

Nikolaus Ludwig von Zinzendorf

John and Charles Wesley

William Penn

Jonathan Edwards

Moses Stuart

Ludovico Antonio Muratori

John Williamson Nevin

Daniel Alexander Payne

Joseph Smith

Isaac Hecker

Henriette Delille

John Veniaminou

F.D.E. Schleiermacher

Silouan the Athonite

Mary Arnold Ward

Alfred Loisy

Elizabeth Ann Seton

George Tyrrell

William & Catherine Booth

John Henry Newman

Abraham Kuyper

G. K. Chesterton

Georges Florovsky

Emil Brunner

William Carey

Archimandrite Feodor

Samuel Ajayi Crowther

Sergei Bulgakov

Dwight L. Moody

Vladimir Lossky

Edith Stein

Rudolph Bultmann

H. Richard Niebuhr

Hans Urs von Balthasar

Anatoly Vasileyevich Silin

John Courtney Murray

Edward Schillebeeckx

Joseph Ratzinger

Chiara Lubich

Karl Barth

Karl Rahner

John Meyendorff

Ignatius Kung Pin-Mei

Dorothy Day

Leonardo Boff

Thomas Merton

Anthony de Mello

John Howard Yoder

Timothy Ware /Kallistos

Billy Graham

James Cone

Howard Thurman

Ignacio Ellacuría

Raimon Panikkar

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to ...

The Heavenly Ladder of Saint John Climacus, late 12th century,

The Holy Monastery of Saint Catherine, Sinai, Egypt

Photograph in the public domain