Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1900-present. The MLA is the standard bearer of literary databases and contains the most up to date literary criticism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
The library has over a million books (both print and e-books) in its collections, some of which are located in the main stacks on the second and third floors with others being in the basement. On the first floor you will find reference books in Information Commons. Literature and journalism books are primarily on the third floor in call numbers that begin with PN (Journalism), PR (British literature) and PS (American literature). Books on rhetoric fall under a variety of subjects and, therefore, are on both the second and third floor.
Search for books using the library catalog.
The MLA International Bibliography is the most comprehensive and up-to-date database of literary criticism. For more databases see the English databases list. In addition to using critical articles, you might want to consider incorporating primary sources into your research. (See the primary source databases list.) For journalism studies the News & Current Events database list is helpful. It includes both historical and current periodicals. For rhetoric and composition studies check out CompPile (a non-LMU resource).
There are occasions when the library might not have immediate access to the article you are looking for. If this happens you can get the article through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan service (read more).
Database Highlights:
Subjects: Native American, History, Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Humanities
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Mainly focused on North America. Based on the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Primary source collection containing full text plays, film and audio adaptations, and image collections. LMU has access to selected content in this database.
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: English, History, Theological Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing searchable full text and digital images of the majority of books printed in Britain and Ireland. Includes materials from 1701-1800.
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, Sociology
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-1940. Mainly focused on United States and Europe. Use advanced search to limit to English language only.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1900-present. The MLA is the standard bearer of literary databases and contains the most up to date literary criticism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Subjects: MANY
Description: Newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text of the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.. Includes materials from 1934-2005.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Subjects: MANY
Description: General newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1851-2013.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Subjects: Journalism, Recording Arts
Description: Primary source collection containing full text articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) and audio interviews. Includes materials from the 1950s to the present. Mainly focused on US and UK music and mainstream press publications.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources; Streaming Audio
LMU has access to numerous journals, most of which are in electronic form. Unlike databases that contain a wide range of materials, or materials that fall within a broader field, e.g. English Literature or Sociology, journals have a particular focus or subject. For example, there is a Victorian Literature and Culture journal and a Journal of Postcolonial Writing.
There are occasions when the library might not have immediate access to the article you are looking for. If this happens you can get the article through ILLiad, an interlibrary loan service (read more).
The library's media collections have everything from DVDs and LPs to streaming media. Highlights include a full collection of Shakespeare plays, numerous documentaries, new and vintage feature films and approximately 1000 screenplays. In addition to the physical collections, there are numerous streaming video and audio options. If you need a place to watch or listen, reserve a library viewing or listening room.
Media collections are searched using the library catalog.
LMU's Department of Archives and Special Collections (ASC) has a wide variety of rare research materials. From the first edition of Jane Eyre to medieval manuscripts to anti-slavery almanacs to early scientific treatises, A&SC offers opportunities for hands on experience with primary sources, unique research and innovative scholarship.
Everyone can conduct research in A&SC. The department just requires that you make an appointment. Visit the ASC libguide for more information.
If you are new to literary studies, the following resources will provide overviews of and introductions to literary authors, genres, terms and movements:
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, Chicano Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. A comprehensive literary database containing full-text critical and literary analysis, author biographies, primary sources, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Bibliographies; Book Reviews; Primary texts in translation
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias
