LibGuides: English: Databases (Articles)

Most Useful Databases: English

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1900-present. The MLA is the standard bearer of literary databases and contains the most up to date literary criticism.

Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews

CompPile
CompPile is a publicly available reference resource that searches the published work in post-secondary composition and rhetoric from 1939-1999. If you identify an article that you cannot find via CompPile, you will likely be able to find it through a library database or through ILLiad (interlibrary loan).

Useful Databases by Category

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via our Document Delivery Service. Delivery time is 5-7 days.

Useful Places to Search: English

African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Modern Languages, African American Studies
Description: E-book collection from ProQuest containing full text. Mainly focused on Primarily Western, Southern, and Eastern Africa.
Contents: E-books
Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics & Archaeology, Digital+Scholarship, English, History, Modern Languages & Literatures, Political Science, Psychology, Rhetorical Arts, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies, Writing
Description: Index giving researchers the ability to identify and access relevant books in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Contents: Bibliographies
Children's Literature and Culture This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital that charts the evolution of children's literature between 1820 and 1920.
Contents: E-books; Bibliographies
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Streaming video database containing high-quality films of leading theatre productions.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Primary source collection containing full text plays, film and audio adaptations, and image collections. LMU has access to selected content in this database.
Contents: Primary Sources
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, History, Theological Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing searchable full text and digital images of the majority of books printed in Britain and Ireland. Includes materials from 1701-1800.
Contents: Primary Sources
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, Sociology
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-1940. Mainly focused on United States and Europe. Use advanced search to limit to English language only.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Native American, History, Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Humanities
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Mainly focused on North America. Based on the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Contents: Primary Sources
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, European Studies, Art History, English
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Mainly focused on Europe during 400-1500.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
Literary Manuscripts Leeds This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital containing an archive of poetry from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Includes materials from 1800-present. Contains literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text of the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.. Includes materials from 1934-2005.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital containing original medieval manuscripts that describe travel in the middle ages.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the MLA handbook, the first editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, and a video course that teaches the principles of the Modern Language Association documentation style through a series of short videos paired with quizzes, plus a final assessment.
New York Times (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1851-2013.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. This database offers users access to a discipline-specific database with immersive tools for engaging in exploration, analysis, and criticism of modern literary works.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Bibiographies; Book Reviews; Dissertations; Primary Sources
Romanticism: Life, Literature, and Landscape This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from Adam Matthew containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Shakespeare's Globe Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources
Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital featuring rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources
Theatre and Drama Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing a variety of theatre-arts related materials highlighting all aspects of theatre and performance.
Contents: Streaming Video

Useful Journals: English

LMU has access to numerous journals, most of which are in electronic form. Unlike databases that contain a wide range of materials, or materials that fall within a broader field, e.g. English Literature or Sociology, journals have a particular focus or subject. For example, there is a Victorian Literature and Culture journal and a Journal of Postcolonial Writing.