LibGuides: RHET 1000: Rhetorical Arts : Find Sources

Find Articles

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Search OneSearch, the library catalog, to find books, ebooks, journals, videos, and other materials that LMU owns or subscribes to.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports

More Databases...
In addition to the databases listed here, LMU subscribes to many others.

Find Opinions and Controversies

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about controversial social issues.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources; Opinion Pieces
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summary reports, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Bibliographies; Summary reports

Background Information

Reference books, whether in paper or online, can give background and depth, as well as definitions, basic knowledge, scope of the topic area, important people and statistics, and some citations to get you started.

Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias

Streaming Video

Motion Pictures and Documentary Films

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, training films, and theatrical releases. Access may be restricted and require library assistance to view.
Contents: Streaming Video
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection. If using Swank Digital Campus from off-campus, your LMU account information may be required. Includes course related, theatrically released films streamed for on and off-campus use.
Contents: Streaming Video

More Streaming Video Databases

Find Books: Search the catalog and watch how-to videos

Search OneSearch, the library catalog

To find books, eBooks, videos and other materials that LMU owns or subscribes to.

How to: Search for Books Video

Search for Books Video Transcript (Word)

How to: Find Books in the Library

Find Books in the Library Video Transcript

Not in OneSearch? Get it delivered with LINK+

LINK+
LINK+ is a catalog of over 60 academic and public libraries in California and Nevada. Current LMU students, staff, and faculty can request books from LINK+ libraries online. The books are delivered to LMU at no charge to you. Books arrive in 3 business days and are held at the Circulation counter for 10 days. The check out period is 3 weeks, with one possible renewal for another 3 weeks, and overdue fines are $1 per day.

**Not at LMU? Fill out a book request form in ILLIAD* and have it delivered to LMU.**

*Please note it can take up to three weeks for a book requested through ILLiad to arrive at LMU.

Book Request Form - ILLiad
Requesting books through ILLiad can take up to a few weeks, due to mailing time.
Create an ILLiad account and fill out the book request form to have books that are unavailable at LMU or in LINK+ delivered from another library. Due dates are set by the lending library and can vary. Books delivered to LMU are held at the Circulation Desk.
WorldCat
Search for books at more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Then complete the online book request form in ILLiad.

Book Directory

Level 1
Reference Books

Level 2:
Main Stacks A - PM
Popular Reading Collection
Curriculum Materials Collection

Level 3
Main Stacks PN - Z
Oversize
Archives & Special Collections

Basement
Basement Storage

How Are Books Organized?

Library of Congress Classification System

Each item is assigned a call number, which is like the book's address.
Each call number begins with a letter or multiple letters, followed by numbers and additional combinations
Sample Call Number: HQ784.V53 A53 2007
Books are arranged in the library alphanumerically.