LibGuides: Need a Topic?: Need a Topic?

Video: Developing a Topic

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about controversial social issues.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources; Opinion Pieces
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summary reports, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Bibliographies; Summary reports

AllSides.com
See issues and political news with news bias revealed. Non-partisan, crowd-sourced technology shows all sides so you can decide.
Wikipedia:List of controversial issues
This is a list of Wikipedia articles deemed controversial because they are constantly being re-edited in a circular manner, or are otherwise the focus of edit warring or article sanctions.

TED Talks
TED conferences bring together the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes or less).
Eureka Alert
Science Daily
Social Justice Topics
The Ignatian Solidarity Network (ISN) is a national social justice network inspired by the spirituality of St. Ignatius of Loyola.
The Conversation
"Expert knowledge for the public good"

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from LexisNexis containing full text from news, business, and legal sources.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Trade/Professional Articles