LibGuides: Yoga Studies: Audio, Video & Images

Find Streaming Video

LMU has access to thousands of streaming films and video clips, including some documentaries and educational films on various aspects of yoga.

Where to Search

Advanced Search - Library Catalog
Enter your search terms. Click on "STREAMING VIDEO" in the Material Type box, and click Submit to search.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection containing educational films. Video may be used for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing.
Contents: Streaming Video

Highlights

Examples of available videos from LMU's collections include:

Yogawoman (2013)
Documentary film on yoga traditions and women's holistic health, made for a general audience.
Yoga & Mindfulness Based Practices to Support Children & Adolescents with ADHD (2006)
90 min recorded educational seminar from a Registered Children's Yoga Teacher.
Chandralekha (1999)
Hour-long interview with Chandralekha Prabhudas Patel, Indian dancer and choreographer who blended classical Bharata Natyam dance and yogic elements with martial arts and other forms of dance.

Find Streaming Audio

LMU has access to thousands of songs and other recordings you can stream, including instrumental music for meditation and recordings of contemporary devotional music and historical recordings, like the Smithsonian Folkways collection.

Where to Search

Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Music, Theatre Arts, Film and Television Production
Description: General streaming music collection from Alexander Street Press containing complete albums and individual tracks. Includes popular music as well as historical and traditional recordings in the Smithsonian Folkways collection.
Contents: E-books; Streaming Video; Streaming Audio; Musical scores
More info
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Music
Description: Streaming classical music collection containing complete albums.
Contents: Streaming Audio; Liner Notes

Highlights

Some highlights of LMU's audio streaming collection include:

Arjuna's Dilemma (opera) by D. Cuomo
Contemporary chamber opera based on the Bhagavad Gita that blends jazz and classical Indian music traditions.
Patanjali's Yoga Sutra (Sanskrit), chanted by Kausthub Desikachar
Includes a classical and simplified version of the entire text.
Yoga Music of India (1964) by the Yoga-Vedanta Forest Academy
Smithsonian Institute Folkways recording, featuring Swami Vidyananda and others of the Yoga-Vedanta Forest Academy (Divine Life Society / Sivananda Ashram) in Rishikesh, northern India.

Other Audio & Video (Library Catalog)

Search the LMU library catalog (LINUS) for physical & streaming media by:

1. Entering a keyword or subject, and

2. Limiting by location material type (i.e. streaming video, DVD, etc. )

Yoga and audiovisual (LINUS search)
Prelimited search in LINUS, the library catalog
LINUS, the Library Catalog
Use OneSearch to find books, E-books, videos and other materials that LMU owns or has on reserve.

Find Downloadable Images

Museums, Libraries & Archives

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Images
Digital Public Library of America has a collection of over 13 million images of from libraries, archives, and museums across the country to search.
LA County Museum of Art
Public domain images of art in LACMA's collections.

Other Open Web

CC Search
Custom search engine for finding images online that are under Creative Commons licenses (varying permissions to reuse and adapt).

Subscription Database

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly two-million high-quality, authoritative images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Humanities
Description: General research database containing images.
Contents: Primary Sources