Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, magazine and news articles, and/or information for book chapters and books about a range of yoga studies topics.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes LINUS (the library catalog), JSTOR, and most of the library's other databases.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books
More info
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
Subjects: MANY
Description: General web search engine of scholarly literature. Google Scholar is a free search engine, so you must configure your Google Scholar Settings to access LMU materials off campus.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews; Conference Proceedings
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry, Psychology
Description: Research database containing both full text sources and citations for sources from 1950-present. Use Article Type options on the search results page to limit by study type (e.g., systematic review, meta-analysis, clinical trial).
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Chapters
More info
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text e-book resources.
Contents: E-books.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles.
These databases are the most useful for researching the philosophical, textual, linguistic, and historical aspects of Yoga Studies at LMU:
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Subjects: Asian and Pacific Studies, History, Theological Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1971-present. Mainly focused on East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: Using OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, media, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books
The following are the most useful for researching the therapeutic and medical aspects of Yoga Studies at LMU:
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry
Description: Research database containing both full text and other information sources (e.g. citations, abstracts). Includes materials from 1950-present. Citations often include links to full-text content from PubMed Central. Use the link in the library catalog or LibGuides to access LMU subscribed journals.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Chapters
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1800s-present about psychology. YOGA is a good subject term to use when searching.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; Dissertations
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1900-present. Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Subjects: Health and Human Sciences, Bioethics, Yoga Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Addresses alternative, complementary, and holistic approaches to health.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles
Many articles will be available full text when you search a library database like PubMed or a search engine like Google Scholar. But sometimes you'll just get article citations but no full text. Here are simple steps to follow when that happens:
1. Search Google Scholar. If you don't find the full text, go to step 2.
2. Note the name of the article's journal, and search the Journal List on the library web site. Follow the links to the journal and then browse by date to find the article.
3. If the article isn't available online from step 1 or 2, use the ILLiad interlibrary loan service. Note: this free service requires creating a user account and does *not* use myLMU login credentials. See link below.