Skip to Main Content

Sociology

Your starting point for finding books, articles, and statistics for your Sociology assignments and research.

Encyclopedias / Dictionaries

Online Reference Databases:

Search for encyclopedia articles on your topic. These can provide concepts, keywords, and experts to know!

Sage Knowledge - Reference
Hundreds of reference titles in the social sciences that serve as essential get-up-to-speed reading.

Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias

Core Sociology eReference Books:

Electronic access to top encyclopedias and dictionaries in Sociology

The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
Online dictionary of sociological terms, concepts and theorists.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Online Sociology Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Human Relationships
Interracial and Interethnic Relationships

Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. It includes books, journals, reference materials, handbooks, datasets, cases, and videos about qualitative and quantitative research methods.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Streaming Video; Statistics / Datasets

Primary Sources- Interviews and Content Analysis

Need a Topic?

Resources for exploring and choosing a topic for your research paper or speech.

CityLab
Five areas of urban coverage—design, transportation, environment, equity, and life—as well as a new Solutions hub to collect the best ideas and stories for an urbanizing world.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summary reports, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. More info

Everyday Sociology Blog
This blog contains regular entries by sociologists about sociology and current events.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about controversial social issues. More info

Pew Research Center
Social & Demographic Trends
Social Science News
Sociological Images
Sociology News - The New York Times
News about sociology, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
TED Talks: Topics A to Z

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2024 11:50 AM
URL: https://libguides.lmu.edu/sociology
Print Page

Subjects: Sociology

Tags: sociology