Subjects: Theological Studies, Classics and Archaeology, Biblical Studies
Description: Background Information database containing full text. Mainly focused on ancient Israel (Palestine) and related parts of the Ancient Near East and the Mediterranean region. Definitions and scholarly overviews related to the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) and New Testament. Multiple Bible translations (NRSV, NAB, JPS, etc.), concordances (NRSV, NAB), and a few commentaries.
Contents: Book Chapters; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation; Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Subjects: Theological Studies, History, International Relations, Islamic Studies
Description: Background Information database containing full text. Mainly focused on Middle East; North Africa; Central, South, and Southeast Asia. Scholarly overviews and primary sources addressing major figures, movements, and other topics from around 570 CE to the 21st century. Includes searchable Qur'an translations and concordance.
Contents: Book Chapters; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation; Encyclopedias; Handbooks
Addresses a range of traditions, including iconographic, martyrological, ecclesiastical, and Christological traditions, as well as cultic phenomena, such as the veneration of saints. The history of the transmission of texts and the attention to recent scholarship will play an important role. The BEEC focuses on early Christianity from a historical perspective in order to uncover the lasting legacy of the authors and texts until the present day. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE.
Comprehensive academic reference work devoted to the plurality of Buddhist traditions across Asia, offering readers a balanced and detailed treatment of this complex phenomenon in six thematically arranged volumes. Database currently holds volume 1, with new content being added.
Includes the 2nd and 3rd editions. The Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, which sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World and reflects the great diversity of current scholarship. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Research on main aspects of the Jain traditions in original essays written by some of the world’s foremost scholars on Jainism. The articles address topics such as the human condition, pantheons, historical perspectives, regional cultures, renunciation, lay society, ritual, devotion, visual and material culture, time and space, literature, and philosophy and logic.
Presents a balanced and impartial view of the Sikh traditions in all their multiplicity and as both historical and contemporary institutions. The articles, published in two volumes, focus on history, literature, and the rich social landscape of the Sikh community; their practices, places, arts, and performances; specialists and leadership; migration both within South Asia and beyond; and contemporary issues and relations.
Academic bibliographical reference in the field of Buddhist studies. It consists of bibliographical records for monographs, reviews, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, reference works, electronic resources, and other. The Index Buddhicus covers Western language secondary literature.