LibGuides: Theological Studies (Graduate): Databases (Articles)

Most Useful Databases: Theological Studies

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Search OneSearch, the library catalog, to find books, ebooks, journals, videos, and other materials that LMU owns or subscribes to.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

The databases listed below are the primary places to search for scholarly journal articles in Theological Studies:

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theology
Description: Atlas PLUS is a full-text collection that includes more than 470 journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with content in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries. As of 2019 Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index content is incorporated into this resource.
Contents: {}
Library of Catholic Thought This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Philosophy, Theology
Description: Research database from Bloomsbury containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles,
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
Twentieth Century Religious Thought This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theology
Description: Research database from Alexander Street containing full text volumes of seminal works by worldwide religious thinkers from the early 1900s until the first decade of the 21st century.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Bibliographies; Primary Sources

Multiple Subjects / General Research

The databases listed below are excellent places to search for scholarly sources on topics that span multiple disciplines:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Ethnic Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters
SAGE E-journals This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews

Core Journals for LMU Theological Studies

America (Jesuit publication): Digitized back issues
Digitized from microfilm and freely accessible, this page provides links to America from Volume 1 (1909) to Volume 106 (1961)
Concilium in LMU library catalog
This link connects to a OneSearch display of volumes of Concilium. Add keywords to modify and narrow the search. Volumes may be either print or ebook format, and may be in English or Spanish.
Concilium in Atla Religion Database
This is a link to a search for Concilium articles in Atla Religion Database. Add keywords to modify and narrow the search as needed once you click through.
Journal of Hispanic / Latino Theology
The Journal of Hispanic / Latino Theology is the preeminent, peer-reviewed journal for Latinx Christian scholarship in systematic, pastoral and practical theology, scriptures, ethics, religious history, and U.S. Latinx cultures. Founded in 1993, the JHLT is published by ACHTUS, the Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States.
Theological Studies
Founded and sponsored by the Society of Jesus, Theological Studies is a quarterly, Catholic scholarly journal that serves the Church and its mission by promoting a deeper understanding of the Christian faith through the publication of research in the theological disciplines and through reviews of noteworthy books. The journal has been in continuous publication since 1940.
Browse Religion Journals in Alphabetical Order
Alphabetical browse, along with title or ISSN search. Note: this list has more than 1,300 scholarly journals.

Biblical Studies Databases

These databases are the best for doing research on topic related to the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament and New Testament.

Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Jewish Studies, Biblical Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from late 1970s-present. Mainly focused on ancient Israel and related parts of the Mediterranean region and Ancient Near East. Focused on scholarly study of the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) and its historical context.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Biblical studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, History, Theological Studies
Description: Research database from Brepols Publishing containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1928-3 years ago. Mainly focused on ancient Greece, Rome, related parts of the Mediterranean region, and the Ancient Near East.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews

Other Specialized Theological Studies Databases

Depending on the research question, the following databases may also be useful:

Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Subjects: European Studies, History, Sociology, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 220 journals devoted to contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern issues.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, European Studies, Art History, English
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Mainly focused on Europe during 400-1500.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Philosophy, Ethics
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Mainly focused on North America and Europe.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
Philosophy Documentation Center Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Philosophy, Catholic Studies,Ethics
Description: Research database containing full text. Includes materials from 1900s-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe.
Contents:
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies,Ethics,Jewish Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present. Mainly focused on North America, Europe, and the Middle East. Summaries of articles originally written in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. Covers theology and religious studies, especially Biblical studies, Christianity, and Judaism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

A-Z Database List
Search or browse all of LMU's research databases.

Open Access

Open Access Digital Theological Library
Open access (free) academic religious studies collection that is ecumenical, global, and interreligious in scope. Sponsored by a group of theological schools. Sources come from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.