The following databases are the top three most used by Education students. If you are new to Education research, it is highly recommended that you begin with ERIC.
Subjects: Education
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; ERIC Documents; Reports
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1800s-present about psychology.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; Dissertations
Subjects: Education
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Subjects: MANY
Description: Search OneSearch, the library catalog, to find books, ebooks, journals, videos, and other materials that LMU owns or subscribes to.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Article not available at LMU? Check out the resources below:
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from LexisNexis containing full text from news, business, and legal sources.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Trade/Professional Articles
Subjects: Education
Description: Research database containing children's literature reviews. You can filter by reading level, grade, genre, and award or look at thematic lists.
Contents: Book Reviews
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Tests and measures collection from EBSCOhost containing descriptions and reviews of educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence tests.
Contents: Test Reviews
Subjects: English, Humanities, and Modern Languages
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing indexes of international literature focused on phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews; Primary Sources
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. It includes books, journals, reference materials, handbooks, datasets, cases, and videos about qualitative and quantitative research methods.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Streaming Video; Statistics / Datasets
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Education
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Contents: Streaming Video
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. It includes books, journals, reference materials, handbooks, datasets, cases, and videos about qualitative and quantitative research methods.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Streaming Video; Statistics / Datasets
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Psychology, Education, Marital and Family Therapy
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals.
Contents: Streaming Video
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Psychology, Sociology
Description: Streaming video collection containing videos in the fields of psychotherapy, counseling, and social work. The videos on this platform include interviews with master psychotherapists, clinical demonstrations, recordings of real sessions, nonverbal observation, as well as, in-depth commentaries.
Contents: Streaming Video
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Health and Human Sciences, Psychology
Description: Steaming video collection containing mental health education and training films.
Contents: Streaming Video
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, training films, and theatrical releases. Access may be restricted and require library assistance to view.
Contents: Streaming Video
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection. If using Swank Digital Campus from off-campus, your LMU account information may be required. Includes course related, theatrically released films streamed for on and off-campus use.
Contents: Streaming Video
Subjects: MANY
Description: Streaming video collection from SAGE containing self-paced online courses in research methods.
Contents: Streaming Video