LibGuides: Education: Need a Topic?

Need a Topic?

Resources for exploring current events and choosing a topic for your research paper or discussion.

Journal Search
Search the Journal List after you hit a paywall on a news website. Find a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper that LMU subscribes to.

Higher Education

Chronicle of Higher Education
LMU Library link
Inside Higher Ed
Times Higher Education
University World News
Educause Review

K-12 Education

The Atlantic
Longer articles, published 10 times a year, 5 free articles per month. When you hit a Paywall go to Journal Search (at the top of this page)
Chalkbeat
EdSource
California Education News
Education Week
Good for browsing. When you hit a paywall, please use the LMU Library link below to search for your article.
Education Week
LMU Library link
Journal of Catholic Education
Browse the most popular articles. Special Issues on Catholic schools and: COVID-19, LGBTQ community, Latinos, and more.
K-12 Education Dive
NEA Today
Public Education News
Topics that can be found on ASCD
ASCD (formerly the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) Topics web pages provide various lenses through which to explore those studies, their findings and the questions that they trigger.
EdTech
Technology in the Classroom

Education

CNN Español – Education
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summary reports, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
EdSurge
K-12 and Higher Education news and commentary
Education headlines, Los Angeles Times
Good for browsing. When you hit a paywall, please use the LMU Library link below to search for your article.
Education News - The New York Times
Good for browsing. When you hit a paywall, please use the LMU Library link below to search for your article.
Education Opinion - New York Times
Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune
Library Link
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about controversial social issues.
Pew Research Center
Social & Demographic Trends
TED Talks: Topics A to Z

Background Information

Reference books, whether in paper or online, can give background and depth, as well as definitions, basic knowledge, scope of the topic area, important people and statistics, and some citations to get you started.

Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias

Statistics

Statistics & Demographics LibGuide