LibGuides: Counseling and School Psychology: Home

Most Useful Places to Search: School Counseling / Psychology

Scholarly Articles:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1800s-present about psychology.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; Dissertations

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Education
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; ERIC Documents; Reports

Google Scholar
You can use Google Scholar to search for articles on the Internet (http://scholar.google.com/). Articles are often behind a paywall. You can set preferences to link to LMU’s Print and E-Journal Collection

Books:

OneSearch, the Library Catalog Using OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, media, and more.

Videos:

Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window Subjects: Psychology, Education, Marital and Family TherapyDescription: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing therapy sessions, re-enacted therapy sessions, and scripted sessions designed by counseling professionals. Contents: Streaming Video
- This link opens in a new window

More video streaming databases

Other Resources:

Journal Search
Find specific magazines, journals, newspapers
ILLiad
LMU's Interlibrary Loan Service
APA Citation Tutorial
Created by the LMU Library. Don't forget to play the Citation Game.
LMU Library videos (Youtube)
Find "How to" videos for popular resources like ILLiad (interlibrary loan), ERIC, eBooks and more
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Antiracism Resources

Zotero Workshops

Citations in the Wild: Wrangling Your Citations with Zotero

Do you need help organizing your research? Join us for a workshop on Zotero, a free, open-source program for saving citations and creating bibliographies. It’s easy enough for students to learn quickly, but powerful enough for dissertations, theses, and capstone projects. Learn how to use and integrate Zotero into your research assignments. Please visit our Zotero Guide for more information: https://libguides.lmu.edu/zotero

Part 1: Demonstration

This is a zoom presentation for those who are sitting on the fence. What to learn more about Zotero before making a commitment? This introductory workshop is for you! Sit back and watch the presentation. Ask questions.

Thursday, October 3, 2024 5:00pm to 6:00pm

5:00pm - Zotero Presentation
Online via Zoom

Part 2: Hands on Workshop

This is not your first rodeo. You have some Zotero experience, viewed a YouTube video or attended Part 1 of our workshops. Now you are ready to get your hands dirty and wrangle some citations. This is your chance to practice using Zotero with our guided exercise and get help.

Thursday, October 17, 2024 5:00pm to 6:00pm

Workshop location: Library Classroom 117
Bring your laptop computer

Note: If you are interested in attending one or both events, please register below.