LibGuides: Streaming Video: Additional Streaming Video Resources

Free Streaming Resources

American Indian Film Gallery
This repository contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking after World War II up to the advent of portable video.
American Memory Collection
Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable in the Library of Congress American Memory collections.
Archive of American Television
The archive collects in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers.
British Pathé
Cinema newsreels, cinemagazines, and historic clips from 1902 to 1970.
C-SPAN
This site contains almost all C-SPAN programs since 1987.
Cinemargentino
Cinemargentino is a library of Argentinian films that allows users to stream full movies, documentaries, and shorts for free. Some with subtitles, some without.
Cineteca Nacional Online
Free and universal access to a trove of full-length Chilean films and documentaries collected by Cineteca Nacional de Chile.
Crackle
Crackle is full of films, TV shows, and original programming, mostly from Sony. It's free, yes, but there are ads during video playback.
Internet Archive
An immense, wondrous assortment of film/video delights: classic feature films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, ephemera, archival footage, educational and industrial films, classic sports videos, television, and way more. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Korean Film Archive YouTube Channel
Get your Korean cinema fix with this YouTube channel devoted to selected films produced in South Korea during the past 70 years. The Korean Film Archive maintains this extensive collection. Subtitles in English provided!
The Living Room Candidate
Watch U.S. presidential campaign commercials from 1952 to 2016.
National Film Board of Canada
Documentaries, animation, shorts, and informational films that are, just like Canada, more fascinating than you can imagine. Many films are free, streaming, and some are downloadable.
Open Culture
Links to more than 1,000 free movies available online collected by non-profit group of educators. Includes film noir, horror, silents, shorts, comedy, drama, and more.

ScienceCinema
Highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Tubi
Free films and TV shows from major studios, albeit with ads.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum Film Archive
Much of the Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum is viewable online. It features thousands of clips pertaining to the Holocaust and World War II.
WGBH Open Vault
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.

Reelgood a 100% free streaming guide that offers a wide range of movies and TV shows. It also gives users a personalized view where they can see all of the shows available to them from different streaming services in one place.

Library of Congress/American Memory program

The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures, organized into 11 discrete collections:

America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
Inside an American Factory: Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
Last Days of a President: Films of McKinley and the Pan-American Exposition, 1901
Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
Origins of American Animation
Prosperity and Thrift: the Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film

Connect to American Memory