A Note on Streaming Materials through Zoom or other video-conferencing platforms:
While streaming through the "screen-capture" functionality in Zoom or other video-conferencing platforms may seem like an adequate replacement for in-classroom screenings of video materials, this method is not recommended by the Library and will likely result in poor audio and video quality for students viewing the material. Additionally, some streaming platforms apply copyright protection and encryption to their content which disables any images or sound being shared between screens.
For "in-classroom screenings" conducted via Zoom or other video-conferencing platforms, the recommended procedure is to direct students to view materials on their own, in a separate window and with their Zoom audio muted, and then return to the main meeting for discussion, analysis, etc. With resources like KANOPY, SWANK, AVON, etc., share permalinks with students either via videoconference chat or your courses' BRIGHTSPACE page and have them watch on their own screens as opposed to streaming through video capture.
Subjects: History, Political Science, African American Studies
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. Mainly focused on the United States.
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
Description: General streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press. Contains award-winning documentaries focused on race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, and more.
Description: General streaming video collection containing educational films. Video may be used for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing.
Subjects: Music, Theatre Arts, Film and Television Production
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Focused on the world's best opera performers, conductors, and opera houses and based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.
Description: General streaming video collection from Adam Matthew. Includes materials from mostly the 1900s. Mainly focused on USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the German Democratic Republic, Britain and Cuba. This collection of films from the Communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources; Streaming Video More info
Description: General streaming video collection. If using Swank Digital Campus from off-campus, your LMU account information may be required. Includes course related, theatrically released films streamed for on and off-campus use.
Subjects: Film Television and Media Studies, Communication Studies, History
Description: General streaming video collection. Includes materials from 1968-present. The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), CNN & Fox.
Subjects: History, Sociology, Political Science, Ethics, Jewish Studies, Peace Studies
Description: Primary source collection containing video testimonies. Mainly focused on Europe, Armenia, China, Guatemala, and Rwanda. Contains more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity.
Contents: Primary Sources; Streaming Video More info