Get Help
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spanish Philosophy: Databases (Articles)

A guide to the philosophers from what are now Spain and Portugal, once known as Hispania, and later by names of individual regions (Aragon, Al-Andalus, Catalonia, Castile, etc.)

Full Text?

Databases can contain links to the text of the articles they describe.  If not:

     Look for the "link to full text" option. This may look different in different databases, but it's there in most every indexing database.  If a recent year, we may have the item in print in the Library.

      If you know which specific periodical, consult LMU's Journal List (on the Library homepage) to determine if the Library owns the article you need.  This List tells you if the journal is available in print or in one of our online databases, linking to the online version.

 

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account.  If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days.  If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer.  For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Classic Periodicals

This book, though not current, contains descriptions of some of the most "classic" philosophy journals, and could be useful for your searching, or for finding a publisher.

OneSearch+

All-in-one search tool which will pull in many, many results.  Knowing what you are looking for and using the limiting tools in the lefthand column will help you narrow the result to more relevant materials. (For more help, see the OneSearch+ LibGuide.)

General Article Databases

Philosophy and related Indexing Databases

Off-Campus Access

When you are off the LMU campus and you click on a link from a library webpage you should get this screen asking for your name and the barcode number on your OneCard (the Library Number on the back of your OneCard that begins with a '2'). If you have difficulties connecting, please continue below or contact the Reference Desk at (310) 338-2790.

Read more...       

ONLINE BIBLIOGRAPHY FOR PHILOSOPHY

In Fall 2010, we added a new subscription to the Philosophy module of the Oxford Bibliographies Online.  A selective committee of specialists have created a biblliography of what they consider core materials for study in the area covered by the module.  Try the Philosophy module below to see how the database works.  Note: we also subscribe to the Biblical Studies bibliography; if you're interested in Philosophy of Religion, give it a once-over.

Article Archiving Databases

¿Lees español / portugués?

We acquired this database in Spring 2014,  SciELO Citation Index (through Web of Science) is a citation database with access to scholarly literature in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities published in leading open access journals from Latin American, Portugal, Spain and South Africa.

A search for the simple phrase Spanish Philosophy brought up 36 articles on such folks as de Vitoria and Unamuno.  Some of the articles link to .pdfs from the journal publisher, others are citations, many with abstracts.