LibGuides: Spanish Philosophy: Finding Texts Online

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing the full text of dissertations and theses from around the world.
Contents: Dissertations

DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP)
The DEEP search engine finds theses from across Europe, with abstracts. Some abstracts are also translated into English.
Index to Theses in the United Kingdom and Ireland
Covers from 1716 CE onwards; about a third have abstracts
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
NDLTD tries to cover an international range of digitized theses and dissertations, encouraging this e-movement for access.
Theses Canada
Identifies both electronic and print theses for Canada, with an option for French.
Catholic Research Resources Alliance
Identifies books, manuscripts (including historic dissertations), microfilm and archives materials of special interest at a cluster of Catholic institutions. Fairly new; look for content to grow over time. Hannon Library is a member.

Philosophical Texts and Monographs Online

See the e-books in LINUS, the Library’s catalog, for original texts, philosophical monographs, (commentaries, critiques, re-evaluations), anthologies, etc. as well as some Reference titles. For example, see relevant volumes in ebrary - thousands of online searchable, markable monographs linked to in LINUS.

Use LINK+ to find additional books or books which are checked out of our library.

See InteLex Past Masters:

Our Past Masters purchased titles include the searchable full texts of the collected works of Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant, Leibnitz, British philosophers 1600-1900, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Darwin, Nietzsche, Peirce, Royce, Santayana, Spencer, Dewey, Hegel, Davidson, Wittgenstein, and Kierkegaard’s journals and papers. Also included are political philosophy texts from Machiavelli to Mill, and John of St. Thomas' (João Poinsot's) Tractatus de Signis. Searchable by word, phrase, etc. across your selection of texts.

For the 'early modern' period, check out philosophical works included in the Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation and the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts for both well-edited texts and image facsimiles of the original printings. Explore with the scholarly tools available in these databases.

See the Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) for full texts of virtually every significant English or foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Over 150,000 titles across disciplines.

See the ProQuest's Dissertations and Theses database for most North American dissertations, full-text from 1997+.

See the following Web sites for examples of online texts:

Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
A searchable bibliography of texts - from private letters, wills, and household accounts to literary works, philosophical treatises, chronicles, court proceedings, church records, and a host of other documents - written in the Middle Ages, now available in print or online editions and translations. Provides annotated entries that include information on the genre, contents, archival reference and original language of the text, and some links to texts. Covers ~300-1500 C.E.
Early Modern Texts
Prof. Jonathan Bennett's collection of online texts http://www.earlymoderntexts.com/index.html
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts is a collection of about 14,000 “classic” public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.
Augustine: Texts and Translations (Georgetown U.)
http://www9.georgetown.edu/faculty/jod/augustine/textstrans.html
Works of Aquinas (Thomas Instituut, Utrecht)
http://www.thomasinstituut.org/thomasinstituut/scripts/index.htm
Corpus Thomisticum
http://www.corpusthomisticum.org/