LibGuides: Theatre Arts: Databases (Articles and Performances)

Most Useful Databases:Theatre Arts

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Dance
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Search OneSearch, the library catalog, to find books, ebooks, journals, videos, and other materials that LMU owns or subscribes to.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Primary source collection containing full text plays, film and audio adaptations, and image collections. LMU has access to selected content in this database.
Contents: Primary Sources
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1900-present. The MLA is the standard bearer of literary databases and contains the most up to date literary criticism.

Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Eighteenth Century Drama This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts
Description: Eighteenth Century Drama is primarily a collection of digitized play manuscripts; it includes nearly every play submitted for license in the United Kingdom from 1737-1824.
Contents: Primary Sources
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, Chicano Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. A comprehensive literary database containing full-text critical and literary analysis, author biographies, primary sources, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Bibliographies; Book Reviews; Primary texts in translation

Theatre Performances in Audio/Video

Theatre and Drama Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full content of the following collections: Black Drama: Third Edition, Broadway HD Collection, Contemporary World Drama, Drama Texts Collection, National Theatre Collection, Performance Design Archive Online, Theatre in Context Collection, Theatre Performace and Design Collection.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing definitive performances of significant plays, documentaries and interviews. Includes materials from 1950-present.
Contents: Primary Sources; Streaming Video
On the Boards This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre Arts
Description: A website providing HD-quality contemporary performance films available for streaming. Filmed at the On the Boards center, as well as peer theaters across the United States, the performances present a snapshot of the newest works by current leaders in dance, theater, and music.
Contents: Streaming Audio; Streaming Video
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection 2 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts
Description: The collection presents classics of the Western canon, modern works by American luminaries, originally commissioned plays, and high profile docudramas—by both renowned and emerging playwrights. LMU has access to Volume 2.
Contents: Streaming Audio

Theatrical Reviews

The newspaper segments of Academic Search Complete and Research Library and Nexis Uni may provide reviews of performances and some drama criticism.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from LexisNexis containing full text from news, business, and legal sources.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Trade/Professional Articles
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Dance
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews