CQ Researcher and Opposing ViewPoints are great information resources. However, most of their articles and reports contain a bibliography that points to additional resources, including books, articles, and websites directly related to the topic at hand. These bibliographies can be great sources of additional information for you!
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summary reports, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Bibliographies; Summary reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about controversial social issues.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources; Opinion Pieces
Finding background information at the beginning of your research is important if you are not an expert in the subject area or not sure from what angle to approach your topic. Background information can provide:
Spend a little time searching in the resources on this page and you'll be better prepared to find pertinent scholarly articles and write a convincing argument.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias
This link opens in a new windowDescription: General research database of poll and survey data. Includes materials from 1935-present. Surveys mostly from North American perspective.
Contents: Data; Primary Sources