LibGuides: CMST 3320: Sexualities and Organizational Communication: Tests/Measures

Tests and Measures for the Social Sciences

Free Tools

Communication Research Measures
This compilation consists of measures that have been developed by researchers at West Virginia University. They may be used for research or instructional purposes with no individualized permission.
Index of IPIP Scales
The International Personality Item Pool is an online collection of valid and reliable public domain tests. Users look up a trait and are given a short list of items that have been shown to discriminate among levels of that construct. You could add a Likert scale to the items to create your own questionnaire.
Tests & Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
This online guide lists approx. 10,000 tests used in social science research that are available in more than 80 compilations. Click on "Compilation volumes' table of contents" to browse or the RefWorks link to search for specific tests by title.

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health and Human Sciences
Description: Research database from EBSCO containing full text. Information in this database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews; Conference Proceedings; Statistics/Datasets
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Counseling, Psychology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. This database is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1800s-present about psychology.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; Dissertations
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Sociology
Description: Tests and measures collection from EBSCOhost containing descriptions and reviews of educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence tests.
Contents: Test Reviews

Books

Sourcebook of Nonverbal Measures: Going Beyond Words by Valerie Manusov
Call Number: Main Stacks P99.5 .S58 2005
ISBN: 0805847464
Communication Research Methods II: A Sourcebook by Rebecca B. Rubin
Call Number: Main Stacks P91.3 .C626 2009
ISBN: 0805851321
Handbook of Multicultural Measures by Glenn C. Gamst
Call Number: MAIN STACKS HM1271 .G36 2011
ISBN: 1412978831
Handbook of Marketing Scales by Kelly L. Haws (Editor); William O. Bearden (Editor); Richard G. Netemeyer (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HF5415.3 .B323 2011
ISBN: 9781412980180
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures by Terri D. Fisher (Editor); Clive M. Davis (Editor); William L. Yarber (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize HQ60 .H36 2011 and E-book
ISBN: 9780415801744
Publication Date: 2010