LibGuides: WGST 1100: Gender, Race, & Sexuality in Wikipedia: Find Sources

What material should I cite?

What makes a source good to add as a reference in Wikipedia?

Published: and peer-reviewed if possible.
Available: can readers access the source?
Secondary: secondary sources are better to cite than primary material, except in cases like official census figures.
Actually supports the text: the source should back up what is stated. If it doesn't, but is a good general resource for the topic (such as a specialty encyclopedia), consider adding the source to a "further reading" section.

Read more at the Wikipedia guideline Identifying reliable sources and identifying independent sources (no vested interest in a given Wikipedia topic and therefore is commonly expected to cover the topic from a disinterested perspective):

Is this source self-published or not? (For this question, see Wikipedia:Identifying and using self-published sources.)
Is this source independent or third-party, or is it closely affiliated with the subject?
Is this source primary or not? (For this question, see Wikipedia:Identifying and using primary and secondary sources.)

Good sources are reliable, independent, and speak to notability. Books, major newspapers, magazines and academic journals are reputable and not likely to be disputed by other editors. Blogs and other self-published material can be used, but may be considered less reliable. Avoid using these as your only sources.

Helpful links:

Find Articles

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, International Relations
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1970-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines

More Databases...
In addition to the databases listed here, LMU subscribes to many others.
Google Scholar
Single search across some abstracts, theses, court decisions, academic articles, and books. Resources available through LMU library link to the full text. Similar sources can be found using the "Cited By" link.

Background Information

Reference books, whether in paper or online, can give background and depth, as well as definitions, basic knowledge, scope of the topic area, important people and statistics, and some citations to get you started.

Gale E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias

Find Books: Search the catalog and watch how-to videos

Search OneSearch, the library catalog

To find books, eBooks, videos and other materials that LMU owns or subscribes to.

How to: Search for Books Video

Search for Books Video Transcript (Word)

How to: Find Books in the Library

Find Books in the Library Video Transcript

Not in OneSearch? Get it delivered with LINK+

LINK+
LINK+ is a catalog of over 60 academic and public libraries in California and Nevada. Current LMU students, staff, and faculty can request books from LINK+ libraries online. The books are delivered to LMU at no charge to you. Books arrive in 3 business days and are held at the Circulation counter for 10 days. The check out period is 3 weeks, with one possible renewal for another 3 weeks, and overdue fines are $1 per day.

**Not at LMU? Fill out a book request form in ILLIAD* and have it delivered to LMU.**

*Please note it can take up to three weeks for a book requested through ILLiad to arrive at LMU.

Book Request Form - ILLiad
Requesting books through ILLiad can take up to a few weeks, due to mailing time.
Create an ILLiad account and fill out the book request form to have books that are unavailable at LMU or in LINK+ delivered from another library. Due dates are set by the lending library and can vary. Books delivered to LMU are held at the Circulation Desk.
WorldCat
Search for books at more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Then complete the online book request form in ILLiad.

Newspaper Databases

Current Newspapers

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from LexisNexis containing full text from news, business, and legal sources.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Trade/Professional Articles
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines