Chat with Us
This library guide supports students enrolled in AAAS 3200: Economic and Political Issues in Contemporary Asia, an interdisciplinary course exploring key economic and political developments shaping modern East Asia. The guide provides access to scholarly databases, books, journals, and other resources to assist students with their group research paper. It is designed to help students identify credible primary and secondary sources, develop well-supported arguments, and deepen their understanding of contemporary issues across Asian societies.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers
Subjects: Business
Description: More than 4,300 business periodicals (3,200 full text) covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals as far back as 1886.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from Gale containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles
Subjects: Business, Economics, International Relations
Description: Research database containing country-specific intelligence and data. Includes up-to-date demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information for each country.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Statistics / Datasets; Country Reports
Subjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports
Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports
For years, the William H. Hannon Library has provided access to the New York Times through databases like U.S. Major Dailies, via ProQuest, and Nexis Uni; but these platforms are optimized for academic research rather than casual reading. We are proud to announce that we now additionally provide access to the consumer edition of the New York Times online, via nytimes.com, for current LMU students, faculty, and staff.
If you already set up access to NYTimes online (previously provided by ASLMU), then there is nothing you need to do. Your access should continue uninterrupted. If you are a new user, register at accessnyt.com. Once registered, faculty and staff have four years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate. Students have access until Dec. 31 of the graduation year they choose.
Whether you’re writing a paper or planning for the weekend ahead, discover original, quality journalism that helps you understand the world – and make the most of every part of life.
Subjects: Art, Business, Finance, History, Religion, Science, Technology, Sports, Political Science, Sports Science, Music, Entertainment, Film, Archeology
Description: Flipster is a digital magazine subscription platform for libraries that allows users to read magazines on their computers, tablets, or phones. This platform offers access to a variety of popular titles, such as Forbes, Time Magazine, Rolling Stones, Sports Illustrated, Bloomberg Businessweek and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection. If using Swank Digital Campus from off-campus, your LMU account information may be required. Includes course related, theatrically released films streamed for on and off-campus use.
Contents: Streaming Video
