Get Help
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hannon Library Sustainable Collection Growth, 2018-2022

A three-year project to strategically withdraw library materials in order to make space for collection growth without compromising access to the scholarly record.

Glossary

Acquisition

The process of selecting, obtaining, and receiving physical materials or access to online resources for the library's collection.

Deselection 

The process of identifying physical library materials or online resources to be withdrawn from the library's collections (including the corresponding record to be removed from the catalog).) 

GFA

GFA is the software LMU uses to shelve our basement materials at high density. Instead of shelving by call number on shelves of uniform height, GFA allows us to store and retrieve items shelved by height, requiring only about 40% as much shelf space relative to the standard utility shelves installed in the WHH basement in 2009.

Iron Mountain‚Äč

The Von der Ahe Library was not large enough to hold the university’s print collections, and a significant portion of the collection was stored in an off-site facility called Iron Mountain. The construction of the basement in the William H. Hannon Library allowed us to bring all of the Iron Mountain holdings back to campus, where they were transferred directly to the basement in their existing boxes, where they remain. Since the move, these books have been targeted as highest priority for deselection review since by definition they have not been used in more than fifteen years.

Low Use‚Äč

This phrase is subjective, and use is applied differently as a criteria depending on discipline. The majority of the books identified for deselection review have zero use since the library catalog was automated in 1990. We recommend downloading the March 2018 Sustainable Collection Report to view more detail about the proposed review based on use by discipline. 

Monograph

Any non-serial publication, consisting of a single work or collection of works. Mostly, books.

SCELC Shared Print

LMU participates in a program of the Statewide California Electronic Library Consortium (SCELC) where 26 private colleges and universities including USC, USF, and others commit to retaining a portion of their collection (currently about 28%) of print books. This allows other participating libraries to deaccession those specific books retained by the other libraries with the confidence that in addition to all the other copies available in libraries worldwide, a trusted partner will have a copy of that exact book available for the library to borrow if needed. 

Serial

Used interchangeably with "periodical," a publication issued over a period of time, usually on a regular basis with some sort of numbering to identify issues, with no foreseeable ending date. Examples of serials include journals, magazines, newspapers, or annual reports.

WEST

Western Regional Storage Trust (WEST) is a collaborative and sustainable journal archive comprised of more than 70 academic libraries across the western U.S. committed to maintaining access to print journals without unnecessary duplication of content that is increasingly available electronically. Libraries commit to retaining specific print journal volumes as a “last copy” resource for the group, allowing individual libraries to withdraw their print copies but guaranteeing access to the print if needed.