Get Help
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hannon Library Sustainable Collection Growth, 2018-2022

A three-year project to strategically withdraw library materials in order to make space for collection growth without compromising access to the scholarly record.

Bibliography

The Sustainable Collection Growth team and Hannon Library Administration conducted an extensive literature review before undertaking this project. Following are articles that informed our work:

Agee, A. (2017) Faculty Response to Deselection in Academic Libraries: A Psycholinguistic Analysis, Collection Management, 42:2, 59-75, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2017.1310069

Hardenbrook, J. (2014). Why We Weed: Book Deselection in Academic Libraries. [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://mrlibrarydude.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/why-we-weed-book-deselection-in-academic-libraries/

Held, T. (2018) Curating, Not Weeding, Technical Services Quarterly, 35:2, 133-143, DOI: 10.1080/07317131.2018.1422882

Martin, J., Kamada, H. & Feeney, M. (2013) A Systematic Plan for Managing Physical Collections at the University of Arizona Libraries, Collection Management, 38:3, 226-242, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2013.797376

McAllister, A. & Scherlen, A. (2017) Weeding with Wisdom: Tuning Deselection of Print Monographs in Book-Reliant Disciplines, Collection Management, 42:2, 76-91, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2017.1299657

McHale, C., Egger-Sider, F., Fluk, L. & Ovadia, S. (2017) Weeding without Walking: A Mediated Approach to List-Based Deselection,Collection Management, 42:2, 92-108, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2017.1318729

Oliva, V. (2016) "Deselection of print monographs in the humanities and social sciences in the digital age", Collection Building, Vol. 35 Issue: 2, pp.37-47, https://doi.org/10.1108/CB-02-2016-0002 

Snyder, C. (2014) Data-Driven Deselection: Multiple Point Data Using a Decision Support Tool in an Academic Library, Collection Management,39:1, 17-31, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2013.866607

Soma, A. & Sjoberg, L. (2010) More Than Just Low-Hanging Fruit: A Collaborative Approach to Weeding in Academic Libraries, Collection Management, 36:1, 17-28, DOI: 10.1080/01462679.2011.529241