Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles, magazine and news articles, and/or information for book chapters and books about archaeology.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, History, Theological Studies
Description: Research database from Brepols Publishing containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1928-3 years ago. Mainly focused on ancient Greece, Rome, related parts of the Mediterranean region, and the Ancient Near East.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
Subjects: History, Archaeology, Anthropology, Ethnography
Description: Research database containing full text. Includes materials from 1970s-present. Mainly focused on North America, Central America, South America (central Andes), South Asia, Egypt, and Mesopotamia. Ethnographic and archaeological overviews and full text of related scholarly sources. Focuses on Stone Age (50,000 BCE) through ancient history (300 CE) and indigenous peoples post-antiquity to 1800s.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; E-books
The databases listed below are excellent places to search for scholarly sources on topics that span multiple disciplines:
Subjects: MANY
Description: Using OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, media, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Beyond the most useful places to search for Archaeology above, these databases are optimal for finding scholarly journal articles about ancient art.
Subjects: MANY
Description: Using OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, media, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books
Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Classics and Archaeology
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1975-2007. Mainly focused on Europe and the Americas. This database is hosted by the Getty Research Institute, and does not connect directly to LMU full-text content.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
If you find an unfamiliar abbreviation while doing research in this area, check the following:
Below are additional databases that include resources related to classics and archaeology. Depending on the research topic, you may want to consider them as well.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Humanities
Description: General research database containing images.
Contents: Primary Sources
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: History, English, Philosophy, Comparative Literature
Description: Collection of handbooks containing authoritative essays, chronologies, and guides for further reading.
Contents: E-Books; Bibliographies; Authoritative Essays
Subjects: MANY
Description: Collection of handbooks containing authoritative essays, chronologies, and guides for further reading. Contains authoritative guides and introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Contents: E-books; Bibliographies
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapters; E-books
Subjects: History, Humanities, European Studies, Catholic Studies, Irish Studies, Peace Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Focused on the history of the world from 1450 forward, excluding the United States and Canada.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; E-books; Book Reviews
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1984-present. Humanities articles, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Classics and Archaeology, Theological Studies, Philosophy
Description: E-book collection containing full text. Includes materials from about 800 BCE-1000 CE. Mainly focused on ancient Greece, Rome, and related parts of the Mediterranean region and the Ancient Near East. Major prose and poetry texts with the Greek or Latin alongside an English translation. Page numbers match the print versions. Full-text searchable.
Contents: eBooks; Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Classics and Archaeology
Description: Research database containing full text. Essential reference work containing the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Contents: Dictionaries; Encyclopedias
Subjects: Theological Studies, Classics and Archaeology, Biblical Studies
Description: Background Information database containing full text. Mainly focused on ancient Israel (Palestine) and related parts of the Ancient Near East and the Mediterranean region. Definitions and scholarly overviews related to the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) and New Testament. Multiple Bible translations (NRSV, NAB, JPS, etc.), concordances (NRSV, NAB), and a few commentaries.
Contents: Book Chapters; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation; Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection containing full text. Scholarly books from Oxford University Press and other academic publishers.
Contents: E-books
Subjects: Theological Studies, Catholic Studies, Classics, History
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: Theological Studies, Catholic Studies, Classics, History
Description: Primary source collection containing full text.
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: MANY
Description: General online archive from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Humanities
Description: Primary source collection containing literary texts of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Requires you to create an account before proceeding.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources