LibGuides: HHSC 430: Advanced Nutrition: Databases (Articles)

Find Articles

Find articles for Health & Human Sciences topics.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry
Description: Research database from Thomson Reuters containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry
Description: Research database containing both full text and other information sources (e.g. citations, abstracts). Includes materials from 1950-present. Citations often include links to full-text content from PubMed Central. Use the link in the library catalog or LibGuides to access LMU subscribed journals.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Chapters
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biology, Health and Human Sciences, Biochemistry
Description: Research database from Clarivate containing full text. Includes materials from 1969-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Coaching and Education. Exercise Science and Fitness. Kinesiology. Nutrition. Occupational Health and Safety. Physical Education. Physical Therapy. Sports Sciences.
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1930-present. Includes literature for sports and sports medicine studies from many respected journals, including extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, and sport studies.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; Book Chapters

General Databases

LMU subscribes to these general databases, covering a broad range of topics. Try them when you want to expand your search to a wide range of periodicals! Or, view our complete list of general databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1900-present. Provides access to the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

Google Scholar

Can I use Google Scholar to link to LMU's resources from off campus?

Google Scholar searches journal publishers' sites and other collections of mostly scholarly journal articles and other texts. When you search Google Scholar on the LMU campus, it knows that you are affiliated with LMU and provides links to LMU's subscriptions to journals and other resources. If you are not on the LMU campus, Google Scholar does not provide links to LMU's resources. You can configure your off-campus computer to link to these resources by going to Google Scholar Preferences, searching Library Links for Loyola Marymount, and selecting "Loyola Marymount University (Full-Text @ LMU Library)." Questions? Please call the Reference Desk at (310)338-2790. Keep in mind that LMU's subscription databases will get you to the same full text articles as Google Scholar with much more powerful and functional search options.

Key Journals

Here are some of the premier peer-reviewed journals in the field:

American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Since January 2012, the new name of the Journal of the American Dietetic Association.
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
In January 2012, changed names to the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.