LibGuides: Culture, Art and Society: The Shaping of Los Angeles (FYS Dr. Noreen): Images

Getty Images

Follower of Rogier van der Weyden, The Deposition, ca. 1490. Reproduced from the J. Paul Getty Museum, January 6 2011.

Getty Open Content Images
Browse and search images of artwork available for free download under the Getty's Open Content Program.

What is ARTstor?

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly two-million high-quality, authoritative images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. While users can search and view images in ARTstor without setting up an account, registering with ARTstor will enable you to create personal folders, save and export image sets, and more.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Humanities
Description: General research database containing images.
Contents: Primary Sources

Other Online Image Resources

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Classics and Archaeology
Description: Research database containing full text. Essential reference work containing the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Contents: Dictionaries; Encyclopedias

The Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Arts Archives
Bridgeman Images
Source of fine art images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists from museums, galleries and artists throughout the world. Offers basic, advanced and inspirational searches along with reproduction rights requirements.