LibGuides: Women and Religion: Media & Images

Sample Media in the Library

Use LINUS to identify media holdings in the Library. If you use the Advanced Search screen, you can limit by format (DVD, VideoCassette) or by Location (Media).

Pink Smoke Over the Vatican
Call Number: CIRC DVD5706
On the controversy over the ordination of women in the Catholic Church
Veiled Voices
Call Number: CIRC DVD 6013
Three Muslim women religious leaders, who say women were always meant to be powerful within Islam.
Interrupted Lives: Catholic Sisters under European Communism
Call Number: CIRC DVD 4179
Experiences of Greek and Roman Catholic nuns under Stalin; filmed on location in Ukraine, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary and the United States
Voices Unveiled: Turkish women who dare
Call Number: CIRC DVD 5058
"Can Islamic values co-exist with full equality for women?" Portraits of three women pursuing life paths and careers of their own choosing in present-day Turkey.
Women of Faith
Call Number: CIRC DVD 4454
Women's decisions to lead religious lives in the Roman Catholic tradition in the post-feminist era. A rare look at their experiences and current controversies over tradition, change and power within the Catholic Church
Sisters of Selma: bearing witness for change
Call Number: CIRC DVD 2051
A look back at 1965 and the unsung soldiers of the voting rights marches. Catholic nuns from across the country answered Martin Luther King's call to join the protests in Selma, Alabama.
Women and Spirituality: The goddess trilogy
Call Number: CIRC DVD 3480
Exploration of the history, repression and resurgence of the women's spirituality movement
Me and the Mosque
Call Number: CIRC DVD 1585
"Journalist and filmmaker Zarqa Nawaz visits mosques throughout Canada and talks to scholars, colleagues, friends and neighbours about equal access for women"--Container
Shakti : The power of women
Call Number: CIRC DVD 2776
Taking inspiration from the spiritual concept of the supreme female deity of the Hindu religion, Shakti, this program celebrates the power of women to drive social and economic change in India.
Satya : a prayer for the enemy
Call Number: CIRC DVD 5680
This film focuses on personal testimonies of Tibetan Buddhist nuns who have taken the lead in resisting the Han Chinese occupation, fearlessly staging courageous demonstrations for religious freedom and independence

Other Online Image Resources

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Finding and Using Images

Use the databases, Web sites and

LibGuide listed in this column

to find relevant images for your work.

Remember, these images are

copyrighted, so you can't post them

on the Web. But you can

reproduce them singly for a class

assignment, PowerPoint or paper.

There are images in the public domain

available from places like WikiPedia Commons.

Our Lady of Perpetual Help

Icon presently in the Church of St. Alphonsus Liguori, Rome

Photograph in the public domain: from Wikipedia Commons

ARTstor Database of Images

LMU Only

ARTstor is a digital library containing nearly 1,000,000 high quality images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. (Note: LMU library account required to access database from off campus.)

While users can search and view images in ARTstor without setting up an account, registering with ARTstor will enable you to create personal folders, save and export image sets, and more.

Click here for a three-minute tutorial on how to set up an account in ARTstor.

Having trouble accessing the database? Click here for ARTstor system requirements.

NOTE: Though you may use ARTstor images for your assignment (in printed form or on Powerpoint, for example), you may not use them on a public Web site, YouTube, etc.

CAMIO Database for Pictures

CAMIO is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums (who keep the publication rights). CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covers the complete range of expressive forms. CAMIO's library of images includes representations of photographs, prints, sculpture, paintings, decorative arts and utilitarian objects. NOTE: CAMIO images may be used for educational/ research purposes if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed. You can use the images for your assignment Powerpoint or handout, but NOT on the Web.

More Art and Images

For additional ways of finding images, see the Visual Research LibGuide!