LibGuides: Women and Religion: Databases (Articles)

Religion Databases

Religion Database
This index covers a mix of religion magazines and journals. Many articles are full-text. ProQuest Religion indexes more than 150 magazines and journals, with most of them available in full-text. This database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. In addition, there are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in areas related to religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives
Religious and Theological Abstracts
An index, sans full text, but the abstracts/summaries help you decide whether an article is worthwhile. If so, paste the title of the journal into our Journal List search box, and it will lead you to the full text of the articles we own online. This database provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature covering Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Old Testament Abstracts
Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978. Old Testament Abstracts Online, a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association, features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
New Testament Abstracts
A research and bibliographic aid for the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains article abstracts, review abstracts, book abstracts, and software abstracts. Indexes and summarizes articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages and approximately 900 current books. Article coverage dates back to 1985. New Testament Abstracts Online, a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College, is a research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, over 1,600 review abstracts, book abstracts, and software abstracts. Each year an additional articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage dates back to 1985.

Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
A free online theological index from the Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen, covering 600 journals, many of them European, some of them not covered by any other index. English or German language search page.

L'Année Philologique
A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L’Année philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.
Periodicals Archive Online
Another digital archive of academic articles, this one a commercial database. Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index (through Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 major science and social science journals. Coverage of current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.

Journals of Interest: Examples

Feminist theology
Japanese Journal of Religious Studies
Journal of Chinese Religions
Successor to Taoist Resources (see below)
Bulletin - Society for the Study of Chinese Religions
Buddhist Studies Review
Contemporary Buddhism
Buddhist-Christian Studies
Hindu-Christian Studies Bulletin
Journal of Hindu Studies
Journal of Hindu-Christian Studies
Journal of Religion in Africa
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
American Indian Quarterly
Catholic Woman (Washington)
Today's Christian Woman
A magazine rather than a journal.

Other Databases of Use

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Includes materials from 1990s-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe. Also includes governmental and organizational grey literature
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles
GenderWatch
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, International Relations
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1970-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Browse or search by movement name (e.g. Age of Consent, Temperance Movement, etc.)
Contents: Primary Sources
Philosopher's Index
Subjects: Philosophy, Ethics
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Mainly focused on North America and Europe.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1972-present. Provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals in the social sciences with detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Trade/Professional Articles
SAGE E-journals
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Ethnic NewsWatch
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Historical Abstracts
Subjects: History, Humanities, European Studies, Catholic Studies, Irish Studies, Peace Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Focused on the history of the world from 1450 forward, excluding the United States and Canada.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; E-books; Book Reviews
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Subjects: European Studies, History, Sociology, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 220 journals devoted to contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern issues.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
From the University of Iowa, open access.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
From the Library of Congress. A huge index of articles and books. "Feminist Theology" brought up over 600 results. For the items you find here, go to LINUS to check book holdings, and to the Journal List to see if we have specific articles.