LibGuides: Eastern Orthodox Christianity: Databases (Articles)

Full Text?

Indexing databases can include links to the text of the articles they contain. If not:

Look for the "link to full text" option. This may look different in different databases, but it's there in most every indexing database. If a recent year, we may have the item in print in the Library.

If you know which specific periodical, consult LMU's Journal List (on the Library homepage) to determine if the Library owns the article you need. This List tells you if the journal is available in print, microfilm or in one of our online databases, and what years we hold.

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Find Articles, Chapters, etc. in Religion Databases

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies,Ethics,Jewish Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present. Mainly focused on North America, Europe, and the Middle East. Summaries of articles originally written in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. Covers theology and religious studies, especially Biblical studies, Christianity, and Judaism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
A free online theological index from the Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen, covering 600 journals, many of them European, some of them not covered by any other index. English or German language search page.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of more than 1,700 academic historical journals, some back to 1955. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The IMB covers periodical literature and miscellany volumes published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan and South Africa, indexing articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. You can select specific topical areas (e.g. theology, religious life) and/or geographical areas (e.g. Eastern Europe), so there is a good fund of articles on Eastern Orthodoxy.

Featured Resource

Studies in Early Christianity
This is a series of books, each with an individual catalog record, which attempted to collect the best essays and articles on early Christianity.
NOTE: There is also an additional, unrelated but relevant volume from 2005, of collected essays of François Bovon in this series list.