This guide is designed to help LMU students and faculty find and access resources in Urban Studies. Explore the information in this guide to discover useful places to search for background information, books, articles, and more.
The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection at UCLA contains historical and contemporary maps from around the world. The digital collection focuses on historical maps of California, Los Angeles County, and the city of Los Angeles with an emphasis on maps from 1860-1950. This is an ongoing project and maps will be added to this collection as they are scanned and processed.
Maps of Los Angeles, other parts of the United States, and various places in the world. Includes maps of California, New Mexico oil fields, maps from the 1860s concerning the American Civil War, California gold fields, and maps of Mexico, South America, Caribbean, Russia, Australia, Pacific islands, India, Middle East, Great Britain and Ireland, Western Europe, and world maps, among others.
A small collection of pamphlet maps created between 1750 and 1924, digitized as a part of the California Cultures Project. Includes a 1911 map of the Los Angeles public transport system, an 1853 map of all California counties, and Faust's detailed map of 1892 San Francisco, among others.
Descriptions and links to over 1,000 digitized maps and atlases from the Harvard Map Collection. Many are georeferenced for use in a GIS. Highlights include maps of Boston, Cambridge and other Massachusetts towns, New England, London, China, pictorial maps by Ernest Dudley Chase, fire insurance and real property atlases, and maps of the Revolutionary War.
A presentation of images of the Mercator Globes at the Harvard Map Collection (Harvard College Library) with zooming and navigation. Mercator was a prolific publisher of maps and atlases. He also produced one version of a globe pair: a terrestrial globe in 1541 and a matching celestial globe in 1551. Surviving examples of the Mercator globes are rare; Harvard's is the only known matched pair in America.
Selections from the Werner von Boltenstern Postcard Collection and other postcard collections of the Department of Archives and Special Collections. Funding for the digitization of portion of this collection made possible by a Local History Digital Resource Project grant. The Local History Digital Resource Project is supported by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.