Get Help
Skip to Main Content

Modern Greek Studies: REF: Literature

This is a guide to doing research on topics relating to Modern Greek Studies

Getting a Foundation

These resources help a researcher three ways: First, background knowledge sets a topic in context, and gives names, dates, subtopics, etc.  Second, a more focused vocabulary (with terms defined)  for more precise computer searches.  Third, listing pertinent articles and books to consult.

The lists are examples of materials available at the William H. Hannon Library that you can use .  Use your OneCard name and Library/barcode number to get into online versions when off-campus.

Need help? Send any  Reference librarian an e-mail or chat via our Get Help service. 

Additional e-Reference works

You can access a list of our electronic Reference tooks using the  e-Reference links section from the Library's homepage.  Besides individual reference works, there are clusters of tools searchable from one site. Examples of multi-title online reference sites:

Sage Reference Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Reference Online

Credo Reference

Use your MyLMU login and password to access from off-campus

Reference Sources: Examples

These give you definitions, critical terms, overviews, and further references.

Call Number: REF PN 41 .A184 2005

 

Encyclopedia of Modern Greek Literature
Call Number: REF PA 5210 .M44 2004
A good introduction to a wide range of authors, terms and genres in Modern Greek literature.  A good starting place!

 

Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature
Online version available in the Literature Online database.  Use the Search Criticism and Reference function to find this work.

 

This, and other Gale sets of literary criticism, are both online as Literature Criticism Online and in print (located on the literature anthology tables near the Indexes next to the Reference Area).  Use the Gale's Lit Index link to find out where a particular author dwells in these sets, and follow up with either the print or online full text of these anthologies of literary criticism.  Articles are arranged chronologically from the author's era onwards.

 

Call Number: REF PN 41 .E487 1998
Also searchable in the Literature Online database  Use the Search Criticism and Reference function to find this work.

 

Electronic Resource.  A large cluster of reference sources on a wide variety of topics.
Click on "Literature" under "Subject Reference" to eliminate a lot of extraneous material.

 

Request books from other libraries


LINK+
LINK+ is a combined catalog of over 40 academic and public libraries throughout California and Nevada. All LMU students, staff, and faculty, can self-request books from LINK+ libraries online. (You''ll need your OneCard name and Library barcode number.)
The books are delivered to LMU at no charge to the borrower. Books arrive in 3 business days and are held at the Circulation counter for 10 days. The check out period is 21 days. NOTE: Overdue fines are $1 per day. Read more...


RESEARCH TIP:  Start your research early, so you can take advantage of LINK+!