LibGuides: Visual Research: Historical

Historical Newspapers & Magazines (LMU only)

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General primary source collection from Readex containing full text. Includes materials from 1690-1922. Mainly focused on the United States.
Contents: Primary Sources; Newspapers
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Women's and Gender Studies, African American Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1857-1912.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Los Angeles Times (1881-2010) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1880-1994. Los Angeles Times Historical adds one year of content annually.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
New York Times (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1851-2013.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text of the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.. Includes materials from 1934-2005.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
San Francisco Chronicle Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing historical newspapers with articles and images of every page from every issue. Includes materials from 1865-1922. Mainly focused on San Francisco, California. Newspaper archive includes four publications: The Call-Chronicle-Examiner, The Daily Dramatic Chronicle, The Daily Morning Chronicle, and San Francisco Chronicle.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General magazine collection from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1936-present.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General primary source collection from Readex containing full text. Includes materials from 1639-1819. Mainly focused on the United States. Mostly in English, but contains some material in other European and Native American languages.
Contents: Books; Book Chapters; Primary Sources

Historical Miscellany On the Web

The Flickr Commons
Launched as a pilot project in 2008 between the Library of Congress and Flickr, The Commons has grown into an unprecedented collaborative photographic resource. The program has two main objectives: 1. To increase access to publicly-held photography collections, and 2. To provide a way for the general public to contribute information and knowledge. (Then watch what happens when they do!)
Life Photo Archives
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE magazine photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Hosted by Google Images
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress American Memory project provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Calisphere Image Search
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. It contains over 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts.
George Eastman House Online Collections
The George Eastman House has the largest collection of photography in the United States. Their online collections contain a representative sample.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Explore 550,000+ images digitized from the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Europeana
Europeana is about ideas and inspiration, and providing access to Europe’s cultural and scientific heritage. It contains links to 4 million digital items, including collections from the Rijksmuseum, the British Library, and the Louvre.