LibGuides: Visual Research: Art & Architecture

What is ARTstor?

ARTstor is a digital library of nearly two-million high-quality, authoritative images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. While users can search and view images in ARTstor without setting up an account, registering with ARTstor will enable you to create personal folders, save and export image sets, and more.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Humanities
Description: General research database containing images.
Contents: Primary Sources

Art & Architecture Online

ArtCyclopedia
Beazley Archive
Oxford University collection of the art of ancient Greece and Rome, and its collection and reception since antiquity.
Bridgeman Images
Source of fine art images from over eight thousand collections and twenty nine thousand artists from museums, galleries and artists throughout the world. Offers basic, advanced and inspirational searches along with reproduction rights requirements.
Cities and Buildings Database
Digital collection with over 12,000 images. (University of Washington). Search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
Google Arts & Culture
Search for material curated from museums and cultural sites around the world.
Great Buildings Collection
This gateway to global architecture documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps & timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, & more.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(LMU only) Comprehensive art encyclopedia covering art from around the world from prehistoric times through the present. Contains links to images of over 45,000 works.

smARThistory
A visually rich, online multimedia introduction to the history of art. Created by art history scholars at the Fashion Institute of Technology, SUNY.
VADS: the Online Resource for Visual Arts
Online portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching, learning and research.

Visual Research

What Will You Find?

What is ARTstor?

Art & Architecture Online

Museum Collections