Description: Newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text of the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.. Includes materials from 1934-2005.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources More info
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, African American Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1550s-2005. Mainly focused on U.S., Canada, and Europe. Some restrictions on content access depending on repository, like oral histories. Browse by subject, historical event, or personal event.
Selections from the Werner von Boltenstern Postcard Collection and other postcard collections of the Department of Archives and Special Collections. Funding for the digitization of portion of this collection made possible by a Local History Digital Resource Project grant. The Local History Digital Resource Project is supported by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian.
Before maps were available online, the Thomas Guide booklet form map of Los Angeles was a must-have accessory for business people and ordinary Angelenos alike. The very first Thomas Guide shows 1938 Los Angeles in amazing detail!
More than 200,000 digitized items (photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, etc.) that reflect the diverse history of California. Collections support California Content Standards, including primary sources sets.