LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Databases (Articles)

Most Useful Databases: Women's and Gender Studies

Need some keywords and basic articles to get started?

Search across the LINUS library catalog and databases with OneSearch+.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Using OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, media, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, International Relations
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1970-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: General research database from Gale containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines, Newspapers
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Includes materials from 1990s-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe. Also includes governmental and organizational grey literature
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles

Politics and Social Movements

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Browse or search by movement name (e.g. Age of Consent, Temperance Movement, etc.)
Contents: Primary Sources
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Political Science, International Relations, Peace Studies
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Dissertations

Feminist theory

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Philosophy, Ethics
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Mainly focused on North America and Europe.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews

Health and Gender

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to nearly 2000 journals in psychology; also indexes books, book chapters, dissertations, and reports. Coverage back to 1887. Our account includes PsycARTICLES, full text articles from 49 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations, spanning 1987 to the present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Includes large collections of scholarly publications in Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books

Gender History

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Humanities, European Studies, Catholic Studies, Irish Studies, Peace Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Focused on the history of the world from 1450 forward, excluding the United States and Canada.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; E-books; Book Reviews
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, African American Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1550s-2005. Mainly focused on U.S., Canada, and Europe. Some restrictions on content access depending on repository, like oral histories. Browse by subject, historical event, or personal event.
Contents: Primary Sources
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, Medieval Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews; Essays
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology, History
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing LGBTQ+ documents and images. Includes materials from 1950 to present. Mainly focused on the United States and Europe. Additional information about the AIDS crisis, LGBTQ+ grassroots organizations, and personal photographs from renowned activists.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Gale, covering nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Resources are primarily western focus with limited content from Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim. Browse using "Explore Collection" by organization or movement.
Contents:Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; organizational and government documents
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; Streaming Video; Streaming Audio
Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. This collection explores the changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender, and sexual behaviors in America and beyond..
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; Streaming Video; Streaming Audio

Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, Chicano Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. A comprehensive literary database containing full-text critical and literary analysis, author biographies, primary sources, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Bibliographies; Book Reviews; Primary texts in translation
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Contains critical articles on literature from around the world as well as popular commentary on world literature from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Reviews; Primary Sources
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1900-present. The MLA is the standard bearer of literary databases and contains the most up to date literary criticism.

Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews

Gender and Religion

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews

Women, Gender, and Society

Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1972-present. Provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals in the social sciences with detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Trade/Professional Articles
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books.
Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing documents, images, and literature. Includes materials from 1800-1920. Mainly focused on the United States.
Contents: Primary Sources

Mass Media and Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Journalism
Description: Research database containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Film Television and Media Studies, Film and Television Production, Screenwriting
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews