Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology, History
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing LGBTQ+ documents and images. Includes materials from 1950 to present. Mainly focused on the United States and Europe. Additional information about the AIDS crisis, LGBTQ+ grassroots organizations, and personal photographs from renowned activists.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources
Subjects: MANY
Description: Electronic journal collection containing full text CAJ is the most comprehensive full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. LMU subscribes to CAJ Series F (literature/history/philosophy) and H (education/social sciences), which contain more than 4,400 journals..
Subjects: Sociology, History
Description: A collection of pamphlets digitized from the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia at the Carl A. Kroch Library at Cornell University. This pamphlet collection, dating from 1750 to 1929, is one of the major English language collections of literature on China in the Western world. Materials in this collection depict Chinese history and culture from a primarily Western perspective. Material types include addresses and speeches, annual reports, assessments, catalogues, essays, examinations, guides and manuals, inquiries and studies, journals, lecture notes, letters, magazine articles, meeting minutes, notes, and records. Many pamphlets also feature illustrations and cover art.
Contents: Primary Sources; Industry Reports; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books
Subjects: Economics, Political Science, Sociology, History
Description: A collection of digitized primary sources depicting, from a primarily Western perspective, trade and cultural exchange with China from the 18th through the 20th centuries. Material types include correspondence, illustrations, maps, official papers, periodicals, personal accounts, manuscripts, photographs, and printed books. Original materials are from libraries and archives from around the world, including the School of Oriental and African Studies in London and the British Library.
Contents: Primary Sources; Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Includes materials from 1990s-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe. Also includes governmental and organizational grey literature
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles
Subjects: Yoga Studies, Theological Studies, Asian and Pacific Studies, Buddhist Studies
Description: Scholarly dictionary of canonical Buddhist terms containing full text. Keyword search or browse by terms (English, Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan), texts, temple, personal or place name, or Chinese ideograph (radical or number of strokes). Entries include references to primary texts and other dictionaries or scholarship. Collaboratively produced and continually updated by Charles Muller (University of Tokyo) and other Buddhist Studies scholars.
Contents: Dictionary
Subjects: History, Archives and Special Collections
Description: Foreign Office Files for China consists of digitized files from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) regarding China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. LMU has access to Section 1 (1919-1929), Section 2 (1930-1937), Section 3 (1938-1948), Section 4 (1949-1956), Section 5 (1957-1966), and Section 6 (1967-1980).
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: History, Political Science, Economics
Description: This collection offers coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952: Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930, Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945, and Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952. Consists of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers. LMU has access to Section 1 (1931-1945), Section 2 (1946-1952), and Section 3 (1919-1930).
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: General research database from Gale containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines, Newspapers
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology, Education, Archives and Special Collections
Description: Records from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature and etiquette books that reveal developing gender roles and relations. Gain an insight into changing societal expectations about gender roles through personal diaries and correspondence and explore the life and careers of key figures and pioneers in gender history.
Contents: Streaming Video; Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Book Reviews
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, International Relations
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1970-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Subjects:MANY
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Using the records of the War Relocation Authority, this database documents the day-to-day running of the ten Japanese American relocation camps across the West Coast from 1942-1946.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Subjects:History
Description: Research database from Alexander Street Press containing full text. This database documents LGBT political, social, and cultural movements from around the world.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Contains critical articles on literature from around the world as well as popular commentary on world literature from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Book Reviews; Primary Sources
Subjects: English, Irish Studies,Jewish Studies, Chicano Studies, African American Studies, Asian Pacific and Asian American Studies
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. A comprehensive literary database containing full-text critical and literary analysis, author biographies, primary sources, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Bibliographies; Book Reviews; Primary texts in translation
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital containing full access to the diaries, journals, and correspondence of Edward S. Morse.
Contents: Primary Sources
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. This collection explores the changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender, and sexual behaviors in America and beyond..
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; Streaming Video; Streaming Audio
Subjects: Women's Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Gale, covering nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Resources are primarily western focus with limited content from Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim. Browse using "Explore Collection" by organization or movement.
Contents:Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; organizational and government documents
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, Research Tools
Description: A database of diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women across three centuries, illuminating issues of gender, class, race, disability, sexuality, religion, and more.
Contents: E-books; Streaming Audio
