LibGuides: MBAP 6750: Business in the International Environment: Country Information

Country Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Country Reports
Country Report (EIU) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics, International Relations
Description: Research database containing country-specific intelligence and data. Includes up-to-date demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information for each country.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Statistics / Datasets; Country Reports
Passport by Euromonitor This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports
Stratfor Worldview This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from containing up-to-date geopolitical analysis.
Contents: Country Reports, Country Forecasts, News
EIU Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Economics, Business
Description: Research database containing full text. Contains country analysis, industry trends, and management strategies. We don't have access to content designated with a diamond by the title.
Contents: Industry Reports; Country Reports

The World Bank
Economic and financial data for 216 countries.

Websites for Country Information

globalEDGE
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
International Business Knowledge Quiz
Take the the globalEDGE International Business Knowledge Quiz!
Commisceo Global
10 resources around the topics of culture, communication and business.
Gestures Across Cultures Quiz
One culture's "come here" can mean "hey **** you!" to someone in another culture. Gestures can lead to some embarrassing situations! If you're going abroad for business then you need to make sure you know what means what. Take this quiz!
International Business Etiquette Quiz
Test your knowledge of etiquette around the world with this quiz.
The World Fact Book
The World Factbook presents the basic realities about the world in which we live in and is one of the U.S. Government’s most accessed publications.
2022 Indext of Economic Freedom
The Index of Economic Freedom is a helpful tool for a variety of audiences, including academics, policymakers, journalists, students, teachers, and those in business and finance. The Index is an excellent objective tool for analyzing 184 economies throughout the world and each country page is a resource for in-depth analysis of a country’s political and economic developments.
Hofstede’s Insights
Select a country in the dropdown menu below to see the values for the 6 dimensions. After a first country has been selected, a second and even a third country can be chosen to be able to see a comparison of their scores.
List of countries by Human Development-Index
Human Development Index (DI) in Wikipedia for HDI numbers for target country.

Provides guidance and best practices on expanding your business to another country.

The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 185 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

Foreign Information by Country from the University of Colorado at Boulder University Libraries

Compiles information on countries from a wide variety of governmental and nongovernmental resources.

Geert Hofstede's Cultural Dimensions Tool

Compare countries on Hofstede's six cultural dimensions.

GlobalEdge at Michigan State University

University of Michigan's web-portal to a wealth of international business resources.

Index of Economic Freedom

Covers 10 specific freedoms such as trade freedom, business freedom, investment freedom, and property rights in 184 countries.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF)

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.

Investment Country Profiles (UNCTAD)

Foreign direct investment statistics.

Oxford Economics Country Economic Forecast

via ABI/INFORM Complete

Ratings and Criteria Center

Business risk assessment by country.

Vizala

Vizala aims to be the internet's most useful database for country, demographic, social, and economic information.