LibGuides: MBAP 6750: Business in the International Environment: Welcome!

Welcome to MBAP 6750

Welcome, graduate students enrolled in MBAP 6750: Business in the International Environment! This library guide is your gateway to a treasure trove of resources to excel in your course. In this dynamic global landscape, understanding international business is essential for success in today's interconnected world.

International business refers to the commercial activities that take place across national borders. It encompasses a wide range of topics, including international trade, global marketing, cross-cultural management, and the strategies that companies employ to navigate the complexities of the international marketplace. "Business in the International Environment" refers to the study and practice of conducting business activities across national borders and in a global context. It encompasses a wide range of activities, strategies, and challenges that businesses face when operating in an international arena. This field of study explores how companies expand their operations, trade goods and services, establish international partnerships, and adapt their strategies to thrive in diverse cultural, legal, economic, and political environments.

Whether you're exploring international trade policies, analyzing global marketing strategies, or delving into the intricacies of cross-cultural management, this library guide is your go-to resource for mastering the complexities of MBAP 6750: Business in the International Environment. Get ready to embark on a journey of discovery and international business excellence!

Course Resources

Doing Business in Kenya by Wakiuru Wamwara; John E. Spillan; Charles M. Onchoke
ISBN: 9781003095156
Publication Date: 2023-02-17
A deep dive into a success story in African business development, this book provides a multi-layered perspective on the realities of doing business in Kenya. The book's detailed information about the economic, social, technological, and cultural dimensions of Kenyan society enables a greater understanding of the major issues affecting business development, and actionable recommendations clarify the possible paths to starting and developing a business venture in Kenya.
Plastic Waste and Recycling by Trevor Letcher (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128178812
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Plastic Waste and Recycling: Environmental Impact, Societal Issues, Prevention, and Solutions begins with an introduction to the different types of plastic materials, their uses, and the concepts of reduce, reuse and recycle before examining plastic types, chemistry and degradation patterns that are organized by non-degradable plastic, degradable and biodegradable plastics, biopolymers and bioplastics. Other sections cover current challenges relating to plastic waste, explain the sources of waste and their routes into the environment, and provide systematic coverage of plastic waste treatment methods, including mechanical processing, monomerization, blast furnace feedstocks, gasification, thermal recycling, and conversion to fuel.
Global Business by Yongsun Paik; Jong-Wook Kwon; Dong Chen
ISBN: 9781138222564
Publication Date: 2017-04-26
This textbook is designed to help students understand the key issues of global business by connecting theory with reality. Divided into three parts, it covers critical issues of international business, introducing readers to topics they will connect with, and discussing core concepts. With a user-friendly pedagogy and a host of helpful visuals, the authors offer a practitioner's perspective on global business knowledge, examining familiar theory on trade, direct investment, and political environment alongside fresh topics, like geopolitical conflicts, emerging markets, and sustainability.

Food, Inc Video
This documentary from filmmaker Robert Kenner examines how the decisions made between the United States government and the American food industry impact consumer health, worker safety and the environment. Despite the alleged protection of the FDA and USDA, E. coli continues to be a health hazard and obesity in America is skyrocketing.
Director: Robert Kenner
Length: 1h 33m

Databases Covered in Presentation

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports

Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Mainly focused on the U.S. for industry profiles and international focus for company reports.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Case Studies; Market Share Reports
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Country Reports

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports
Passport by Euromonitor This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports

The World Bank
The World Bank is an international development organization owned by 187 countries. Its role is to reduce poverty by lending money to the governments of its poorer members to improve their economies and to improve the standard of living of their people.

Additional CBA Resources

Financial Times (Online)
CBA offers access to FT.com. Go to ft.com/lmu and use your LMU email address to create an account.
Capital IQ
CBA offers access to S&P's Capital IQ, provider of financial research, ratings, and market indices. Visit www.capitaliq.com and click on “New User” to create an account.
Bloomberg Terminals
CBA offers access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals located in the Finance Learning Lab in Hilton. Students also have the ability to become Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) certified. Three more Bloomberg terminals have been placed in the William H. Hannon Library on the second floor. These three terminals can be accessed during library operating hours.

MBAP 6750: Business in the International Environment

Business Librarian

Chat with us!

Welcome to MBAP 6750

Course Resources

Databases Covered in Presentation

Additional CBA Resources