LibGuides: History: Background Information

Online resources

The Cambridge World History
Call Number: Online - ebook

Need to become an expert, fast? Start here!

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Liberal Studies, African American Studies, Catholic Studies, Irish Studies, Jewish Studies
Description: E-book collection containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Bibliographies
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection containing full text. Focuses on Humanities, Social Sciences, and Business disciplines.
Contents: Book Chapters; E-books

Bibliographies as background info

Zheng He's Maritime Voyages (1405-1433) and China's Relations with the Indian Ocean World by Ying Liu (Volume Editor); Gregory Blue (Volume Editor); Zhongping Chen (Volume Editor)
Call Number: Online - access through catalog record
Publication Date: 2015
Zheng He's Maritime Voyages (1405-1433) and China's Relations with the Indian Ocean lists selected sources in thirteen languages and reflects global scholarship of Zheng He's seven maritime expeditions and the early-modern communication network linking China and the Indian Ocean World.

Topical bibliographies can be an excellent way to save time when you need to identify the important scholarship on a given topic.

Style & writing

Writing History by William Kelleher Storey
Call Number: MAIN STACKS D16 .S864 2013
Term Paper Resource Guides by Greenwood Press
ISBN: 9780313352720
This series covers many historical periods and locations

Core reference resources

These online "quick reference" resources are useful for assistance with fact checking, spelling and grammar, and background information on various topics. For in-depth and specialty resources, periodical indexes, and academic journals, please search our library catalog for our print collection, and our r esearch databases for a broad range of scholarly and popular sources.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Biology, Computer Science, Engineering, Physics
Description: Research database containing full text.
Contents: Encyclopedias; Biographies; eBooks.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General biographical dictionary from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Dictionaries
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text articles, streaming video, images, dictionary.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Streaming Video; Encyclopedias
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Bibliographies
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias