LibGuides: History: Primary Sources

Newest Primary Source Collections

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Native American, History
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing primary source information on the interaction between American Indians, the U.S. government, and settlers from 1809 to 1971.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Primary Sources
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: This multidisciplinary database gives students and researchers a comprehensive look into the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies. It highlights disciplines where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Chapers; Bibliographies; Primary Sources
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text collections of rare eighteenth-century periodicals.
Contents: Popular (Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
FBI Confidential Files and Radical Politics in the U.S. 1945-1972 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History; Political Science
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972.
Contents: Primary Sources
Japanese American Incarceration This link opens in a new window
Subjects:MANY
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Using the records of the War Relocation Authority, this database documents the day-to-day running of the ten Japanese American relocation camps across the West Coast from 1942-1946.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Labor Unions in the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business; History
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing the documented work and writings of the Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Political Science; Psychology; Sociology
Description: Research database from Alexander Street Press containing the resources necessary to investigate crucial global trends in mass incarceration and the complex prison infrastructure.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History
Description: Primary source collection of newspapers containing full text. Mainly focused on Japanese history and the Japanese American emigre community and its history.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Struggle of Women's Rights Organizational Records This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text records from the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Women at Work during World War II This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History; Women's and Gender Studies
Description: Research database from ProQuest that seeks to document American women's experiences during World War II.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles

Quick Links to Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Databases at LMU Library
This list contains both broad, curated collections and single-source databases from a variety of content providers. Use your myLMU credentials to log in.
Primary Sources Libguide
This guide was created to help LMU students find and evaluate primary source materials. Students in any type of course may have assignments that involve primary sources. The LMU librarians encourage anyone working with primary sources to reach out with their questions!
Online Historical Maps
With over 400,000 maps from all periods of history, this site "aims to demonstrate a combination of tools for publishing historical maps with a focus on their easy accessibility for the general public."
Center for Research Libraries
"The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions." Search for materials and order them using ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system.