Zotero for SURP

Zotero allows you to export individual citation items or whole collections for use in other documents. 

To export a collection:

From Zotero Desktop/Standalone

1. Find the correct collection (or select individual items or multiple items in My Library using the Shift key)
2. Right-click on the collection name (or grouped items) and choose "Create Bibliography from Collection"
3. Options on this page control how to use your list. You can:
   1. Choose the Citation Style
   2. Export either your notes from the items or the whole citation list 
   3. Save as a rich text format (RTF) which can be added to a document in Word or Pages
   4. Save as HTML, a web format
   5. Copy to clipboard and paste into another document BUT you will use the citation formatting
   6. Print to computer

From Zotero Online (Zotero.org)

1. Find the correct collection
2. Select the items you want to export (you can select all by checking the top box above the library list)
3. Select the citation list icon
   
4. A box will appear to let you choose a citation style and copy/paste your list text
5. 

Video Instructions on Creating Bibliographies in Zotero

Word processor plugins allow you to insert citations and bibliographies directly into your documents. Installing them is optional but highly recommended.

Go to the Word Processor Plugins page. Choose the most recent version of the plugins if you're installing Zotero for the first time.

Word for Mac/Windows users:

1. Close Word.
2. Click the link labeled "Install the Word for Windows Plugin" or "Install the Word for Mac Plugin."
3. When you see the message "Firefox prevented this site from asking you to install software on your computer," click Allow.
4. Click Allow and Install now.
5. Restart Firefox when prompted.

The Zotero word processing plug-ins do not work on some popular word processing applications, such as Apple's Pages. If you are a Mac user with Pages installed on your device, but would like to use the Zotero word-processing plug-ins you can, as an LMU student, install Microsoft Word for free. Or you can install the free, open source word processor from LibreOffice on to your machine.