Subjects: Theological Studies, Classics and Archaeology, Biblical Studies
Description: Background Information database containing full text. Mainly focused on ancient Israel (Palestine) and related parts of the Ancient Near East and the Mediterranean region. Definitions and scholarly overviews related to the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) and New Testament. Multiple Bible translations (NRSV, NAB, JPS, etc.), concordances (NRSV, NAB), and a few commentaries.
Contents: Book Chapters; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation; Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks More info
Description: Scholarly encyclopedia from De Gruyter containing full text. Provides in-depth renderings of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. Each entry includes a bibliography.
Description: An accessible, and up-to-date Bible dictionary, containing over 2,000 authoritative entries that provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible.
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Jewish Studies, Biblical Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from late 1970s-present. Mainly focused on ancient Israel and related parts of the Mediterranean region and Ancient Near East. Focused on scholarly study of the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) and its historical context.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters More info