LibGuides: Classics: Languages

Ancient Language Study

This page contains selected print books, subscription databases/tools, and websites recommended for the study of ancient languages. For more resources, search LINUS (the library catalog) or contact a librarian for assistance.

Greek

Print

Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell-Scott) by Liddell, H.G. & Scott, R.
Call Number: REF PA 445 E5 L6 1996
Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon: Founded upon the 7th edition of Liddell & Scott's Greek-English Lexicon
Call Number: PA445.E5 L7 1889b
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by Danker, F.W.
Call Number: REF PA881 .B38 2000

Electronic

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: Lexica This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Humanities
Description: Greek lexica containing headwords linked to the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae texts. Requires you to create an account before proceeding.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources

Logeion (Perseus @ University of Chicago)
- This link opens in a new window
Open access tool for searching across Greek and Latin dictionaries, including Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon, Autenrieth's Homeric Lexicon, and Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon.
Diccionario Griego–Español (DGE)
- This link opens in a new window
Open access ancient Greek-Spanish dictionary based Liddell-Scott-Jones (LSJ) dictionary, 9th edition (1940).
Bibloi
Software with Greek, Hebrew, and Latin Bible texts; several English translations; dictionaries; and concordances. Available on Windows side of Information Commons computers (Hannon Library 1st Floor).

Greek Grammar by Smyth, H.W.
Call Number: PA254 .S6 1984 (REF & Main Stacks)
A standard grammar for Classical Greek.
Homeric Grammar by D.B. Monro
Call Number: Basement Storage-GFA (PA4179 .M667 1998)
Concise Exegetical Grammar of New Testament Greek by Greenlee, J.H.
Call Number: REF PA817 .G7 1986

TextKit: Greek and Latin Learning Tools
Online learning resource that provides downloadable Greek and Latin grammars and readers. E-books of Greek/Latin texts also available.
Ancient Greek Tutorials @ AtticGreek.org
Tutorials that complement Introduction to Attic Greek, 2nd ed. (University of California Press 2013), including pronunciation, accentuation, and verb and noun drills.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Theological Studies, Philosophy
Description: E-book collection containing full text. Includes materials from about 800 BCE-1000 CE. Mainly focused on ancient Greece, Rome, and related parts of the Mediterranean region and the Ancient Near East. Major prose and poetry texts with the Greek or Latin alongside an English translation. Page numbers match the print versions. Full-text searchable.
Contents: eBooks; Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Searchable works of Plato and Aristotle in Greek and English
Patrologiae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Browsable electronic Greek versions of the works of Eastern and Greek-speaking Church "Fathers" from the late 2nd century CE Clement of Rome to the Council of Florence in 1439. This is a complete scanned version of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Graecae (1857-1866).
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Humanities
Description: Primary source collection containing literary texts of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Requires you to create an account before proceeding.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources

Ancient Greek Transliteration Table
From the Library of Congress. Shows standard ways of writing ancient Greek letters and words in Roman (English) script.

Latin

Print

Oxford Latin Dictionary by Glare, P.
Call Number: REF PA2365.E5 O9 2012
Cassell's Latin Dictionary by Simpson, D.
Call Number: PA2365.E5 C3 1977 (REF, Dictionary Stand, and Main Stacks)
Dictionary of Ecclesiastical Latin by Stelten, L.
Call Number: REF PA2891 .D53 1995

Electronic

Logeion (Perseus @ University of Chicago)
- This link opens in a new window
Open access tool for searching across Greek and Latin dictionaries, including Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon, Autenrieth's Homeric Lexicon, and Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon.
Bibloi
Software with Greek, Hebrew, and Latin Bible texts; several English translations; dictionaries; and concordances. Available on Windows side of Information Commons computers (Hannon Library 1st Floor).

Latin Grammar by Gildersleeve, B.L.
Call Number: PA2087 .G5 1997
English Grammar for Students of Latin by Goldman, N. & Morton, J.
Call Number: PA2100 .G64 2004
A Primer of Ecclesiastical Latin by Collins, J.
Call Number: BASEMENT STORAGE PA2823 .C55 1985

Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
Site from University of Notre Dame.

Library of Latin Texts Online (CLCLT) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Classics, History
Description: Library of full-text original language texts, from Antiquity to the 1900s.
Contents: Original-language primary texts
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, Theological Studies, Philosophy
Description: E-book collection containing full text. Includes materials from about 800 BCE-1000 CE. Mainly focused on ancient Greece, Rome, and related parts of the Mediterranean region and the Ancient Near East. Major prose and poetry texts with the Greek or Latin alongside an English translation. Page numbers match the print versions. Full-text searchable.
Contents: eBooks; Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Philosophy, Theological Studies, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies,Ethics
Description: Primary source collection containing full text. Includes materials from 400 BCE-1980s. Mainly focused on Europe and the U.S. Collection of major works in philosophy (classical, medieval, continental, British, American) and theology (medieval) in their original languages and/or English translation. Full-text searchable.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Catholic Studies, Classics, History
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Primary Sources

Classical Hebrew

Dictionary of Classical Hebrew by Clines, D.A. (ed.)
Call Number: REF PJ4833 .D5 1993
8-volume Hebrew-English dictionary that includes the Hebrew Bible, the Dead Sea Scrolls, and all other known Hebrew inscriptions and manuscripts.
Hebrew and English lexicon of the Old Testament by Brown, F., Driver, S., & Briggs, C.
Call Number: REF PJ4833 .B68 1962
Update of the well-known Gesenius lexicon
Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by Holladay, W.
Call Number: REF PJ4833 .H6
Condensed, 1-volume version of the classic Koehler-Baumgartner lexicon

Bibloi
Software with Greek, Hebrew, and Latin Bible texts; several English translations; dictionaries; and concordances. Available on Windows side of Information Commons computers (Hannon Library 1st Floor).

A Grammar of Biblical Hebrew by Joüon, P., & Muraoka, T.
Call Number: PJ4567 .J7613 2006
Basics of Biblical Hebrew Grammar by Pratico, G. & Van Pelt, M.
Call Number: OVERSIZE PJ4567.3 .P73 2007
Biblical Hebrew: Textbook and Workbook by Kittel, B., Hoffer, V., & Wright, R.
Call Number: OVERSIZE PJ4567.3 .K5 2005

Hebrew Grammar Chart
Convenient PDF of verb and noun forms created by an Old Testament & Hebrew professor.

Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia (Hebrew Bible) by K. Elliger, editor
Call Number: BS715 1997
Standard critical edition in vocalized Hebrew, based on the Masoretic text.
Interlinear Hebrew/Greek English Bible by Green, J.
Call Number: REF BS3.5 1976
3-volume Bible that displays the Hebrew (Masoretic) text alongside a word-for-word English translation.

Bibloi
Software with Greek, Hebrew, and Latin Bible texts; several English translations; dictionaries; and concordances. Available on Windows side of Information Commons computers (Hannon Library 1st Floor).

Hebrew and Yiddish Transliteration Table
From the Library of Congress. Shows standard ways of writing Hebrew letters and words in Roman (English) script.