LibGuides: Writing : Using and Citing Sources

Choose Your Citation Style

APA Style	APA Citation Tutorial APA Style and Grammar Guidelines APA Style Blog (archive of Q&A) APA Style Supplemental Resources APA Manual @ LMU Library Formatting an APA Paper - Purdue Owl Creating a Reference List - Purdue Owl DOI Lookup
MLA Style	Formatting a MLA Paper - Purdue Owl Creating a Works Cited - Purdue Owl MLA Handbook @ LMU Library
Chicago Style	Chicago Style - Notes Template Handout Chicago Style - Bibliography Template Handout Chicago Style Tutorial Formatting a Chicago Style Paper - Purdue Owl Chicago Citation Quick Guide Chicago Manual of Style Online
Other Citation Styles	American Chemical Society (ACS) Style Guide @ LMU Library American Sociological Association (ASA) Formatting - Purdue Owl APSA Style Manual - American Political Science Association Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Editorial Style Manual National Library of Medicine (NLM) Style Guide

Citing ChatGPT

Using and Citing Sources

What is citing and citations?

Citations can be a quotation from or reference to a book, paper, or author, especially in a scholarly work - OED Online
Citing a source means that you show, within the body of your text, that you took words, ideas, figures, images, etc. from another place - MIT Libraries
Citations are a short way to uniquely identify a published work (e.g. book, article, chapter, web site). They are found in bibliographies and reference lists and are also collected in article and book databases - MIT Libraries

Why cite sources? (From Arizona State University)

Citations credit the author of the original work who provided you with the information or idea
Citations allow your audience to identify and find the source material in order to learn more about your topic
Citations give your paper more credibility because it shows you're supporting your arguments with high-quality sources
Citations help you avoid plagiarism & demonstrate your integrity as a responsible researcher and participant in your field of study

Free Citation Websites

ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib is a free and easy way to create bibliographies made by the creators of Zotero. It can create bibliographies in 9,000 different styles that you can copy and paste into your pape

Citation Software

Zotero
Zotero is a free software application that allows you to collect, organize and access your personal research library from any computer. Zotero is available for GNU/Linux, Windows, and macOS. The Zotero browser connectors (currently for Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari) automatically sense citations and PDFs and let you add that content to your personal Zotero library with a single click.

Zotero Workshops

Citations in the Wild: Wrangling Your Citations with Zotero

Do you need help organizing your research? Join us for a workshop on Zotero, a free, open-source program for saving citations and creating bibliographies. It’s easy enough for students to learn quickly, but powerful enough for dissertations, theses, and capstone projects. Learn how to use and integrate Zotero into your research assignments. Please visit our Zotero Guide for more information: https://libguides.lmu.edu/zotero

Part 1: Demonstration

This is a zoom presentation for those who are sitting on the fence. What to learn more about Zotero before making a commitment? This introductory workshop is for you! Sit back and watch the presentation. Ask questions.

Thursday, October 3, 2024 5:00pm to 6:00pm

5:00pm - Zotero Presentation
Online via Zoom

Part 2: Hands on Workshop

This is not your first rodeo. You have some Zotero experience, viewed a YouTube video or attended Part 1 of our workshops. Now you are ready to get your hands dirty and wrangle some citations. This is your chance to practice using Zotero with our guided exercise and get help.

Thursday, October 17, 2024 5:00pm to 6:00pm

Workshop location: Library Classroom 117
Bring your laptop computer

Note: If you are interested in attending one or both events, please register below.