So you are ready to embark on a new research project, and you need some background information. Wikipedia is one place to start - and while it may seem to be the easiest option, after checking the article's grade, testing for verifiability, and reading critically to assess the article's neutrality Wikipedia appears to be much more work-intensive than it originally seemed. Fortunately, the LMU library subscribes to multiple online reference resources that are as simple to search as Wikipedia, but return results written by experts in the field with more comprehensive bibliographies containing a higher number of scholarly sources. This is not to say that the articles found on these subscription-based reference services do not require a critical reading, in fact they do. However, for scholarly and college level work, the articles and bibliographies in the online reference sites that LMU library subscribes to provide a less work-intensive starting point than Wikipedia:
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from SAGE Publications containing full text of scholarly books, encyclopedias, and handbooks. It covers various areas of the social sciences.
Contents: eBooks.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Biology, Computer Science, Engineering, Physics
Description: Research database containing full text.
Contents: Encyclopedias; Biographies; eBooks.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General biographical dictionary from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Dictionaries
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Bibliographies
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text articles, streaming video, images, dictionary.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Streaming Video; Encyclopedias
