Get Help
Skip to Main Content

Research Guide to Archives and Special Collections

Art and Artifacts

Our holdings include a wide variety of art works and historical artifacts, such as paintings, prints, sculptures, religious vestments, an ancient battle helmet, and many others. Learn more about our Art and Artifacts Collections

Examples:

     Robert and Miriam Kinsey Collection                    Max Thalmann Prints and Drawings                   Del Valle Family Collection

Robert and Miriam Kinsey Collection         Max Thalmann Prints and Drawings               Del Valle Family Collection

Audiovisual Collections

Our audiovisual collections are comprised of over 3,800 hours of recordings. In particular, two KCET-TV Collections highlight Los Angeles history in the late 20th century in non-commercial news and public affairs television programs. Learn more about our Audiovisual Collections

A selection of programs from the KCET-TV Collection of Life and Times Video Recordings is available to view online.

CSLA Collections

Center for the Study of Los Angeles (CSLA) Research Collections emphasize papers of Los Angeles public officials, Los Angeles real estate and industrial developers, reformers and reform movements principally in late twentieth-century Los Angeles, and prominent Roman Catholic families in Los Angeles. Learn more about our CSLA Collections

Examples (click on images):

        Photograph of A young woman at Delphina Villa, from Workman Family Papers            The Gridiron newspaper, June 17, 1927, from J. D. Black Papers          Family portrait of Isidore B. and Gertrude Reeve Dockweiler with their children, circa 1920, from Dockweiler Family Papers

            Workman Family Papers                         J. D. Black Papers                                Dockweiler Family Papers

Manuscript Collections

Our manuscript collections focus on Los Angeles history, motion picture and television history, the American Civil War, performing arts, and literature. They contain a wide range of archival and historical materials, such as handwritten documents, photographs, maps, personal and family papers. Learn more about our Manuscript Collections.

Examples (click on images):

Diary of Frederick J. Bartlett, from Civil War Collection   undefined   Map of Los Angeles and Long Beach Harbors, 1913, from Hurley Wright Surveyors Map Collection

                  Civil War Collection                          Venegas Family Papers                  Hurley/Wright Surveyors Map Collection

Postcards

With over one million postcards, we house one of the largest publicly accessible postcard collections in the United States. LMU’s postcard collections are comprised of thematic cards and view cards from all over the world. Learn more about our Postcard Collections.

Examples (click on images):

Postcard of Olvera Street, Los Angeles, California   ‚ÄčPostcard of landscapes in Bishop, California   Postcard of Angels Flight, Los Angeles, California   Postcard of a happy new year

Rare Books

With over 12,000 rare books, the strengths of our rare book collections are first editions of important British and American literature, works by and about Thomas More and his world, Catholic authors, incunabula and other early printed works, and materials from early Southern California family collections. Learn more about our Rare Book Collections.

Examples (click on images):

      1488 Book of Hours    William Shakespeare's First Folio     1699 Dialogo dei massimi sistemi by Galileo       1496 Decisiones Rotae Romanae

University Archives

University Archives document the history of Loyola Marymount University since its inception through photographs, documents, artifacts, and other media created and kept by the campus community over time. The collections are grouped by key areas of the university, including Curriculum and Instruction, Law School, Religious Communities, Student Life, and University Governance & Administration. Learn more about the LMU University Archives

Examples (click on images):

1977 Resident Life Guide    Aerial view of St. Robert's Hall construction, Loyola University of Los Angeles    Lion mascot, Mary Howe, John Lehne, and Bob McGuire at 1958 homecoming    1969 Del Rey Players Playbill A Thurber Carnival