LibGuides: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer Research Tools: Databases (Articles)

Most Useful Places to Search: LGBTQ Studies

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology, History
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing LGBTQ+ documents and images. Includes materials from 1950 to present. Mainly focused on the United States and Europe. Additional information about the AIDS crisis, LGBTQ+ grassroots organizations, and personal photographs from renowned activists.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1975-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, Sociology, Art / Art History, Music, Research Tools
Description: Defining Gender is a collection of digitized primary sources depicting gender in British history, literature, society, and culture from 1450-1910. Materials in this collection allow the viewer to see how British perceptions of gender and gender roles developed and changed. Material types include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, government papers, illustrated writings on anatomy, writings on midwifery, art and fashion publications, receipt books, conduct and advice literature, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and more.
Contents: Primary Sources; E-books; Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Political Science, Sociology, Education, Archives and Special Collections
Description: Records from men’s and women’s organizations, advice literature and etiquette books that reveal developing gender roles and relations. Gain an insight into changing societal expectations about gender roles through personal diaries and correspondence and explore the life and careers of key figures and pioneers in gender history.
Contents: Streaming Video; Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Book Reviews
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, Sociology
Description: General research database from Gale containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines, Newspapers
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Women's and Gender Studies, History, International Relations
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1970-present. Mainly focused on North America and Europe with select international coverage.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
LGBT Magazine Archive traces the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature, through an archive of 26 leading but previously hard-to-find magazines. LMU has access to collections I & II.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Subjects:History
Description: Research database from Alexander Street Press containing full text. This database documents LGBT political, social, and cultural movements from around the world.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. This collection explores the changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender, and sexual behaviors in America and beyond..
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; Streaming Video; Streaming Audio

LMU staff publication!

An Empirical Study into the Relationship between Bisexual Identity Congruence, Internalized Biphobia and Infidelity among Bisexual Women
This study examined the relationship between bisexual identity congruence, internalized biphobia and infidelity among women who are attracted to men and women.