LibGuides: Mary: Theology, Culture, Devotion & Theotokos: Databases (Articles)

Full Text?

Indexing databases can include links to the text of the articles they contain. If not:

Look for the "link to full text" option. This may look different in different databases, but it's there in most every indexing database. If a recent year, we may have the item in print in the Library.

If you know which specific periodical, consult LMU's Journal List (on the Library homepage) to determine if the Library owns the article you need. This List tells you if the journal is available in print, microfilm or in one of our online databases, and what years we hold.

Marian Bibliography

Bibliography for the Study of the Virgin Mary
A short but useful bibliography, divided into subtopics. (Overlook the aberrant style and underlining!)

Religion: Indexing Databases for Articles

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Biblical studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly articles on the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament, and provides summaries to help your searching.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations

IXTheo
European indexing database containing document descriptions from more than 600 periodicals and from Festschriften and congress publications. It is updated every night. Not linked to LMU holdings; use the Journal List to see if we have the journal, or LINUS for the festschriften and books.

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, European Studies, Art History, English
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Mainly focused on Europe during 400-1500.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies,Ethics,Jewish Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present. Mainly focused on North America, Europe, and the Middle East. Summaries of articles originally written in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. Covers theology and religious studies, especially Biblical studies, Christianity, and Judaism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

Maronite Madonna

Portrait of the Virgin Mary

Pontifical Maronite College, Rome

Photo: T Amodeo 2010

With thanks to the College Staff for their hospitality.

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.